Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Folding for ocforums with a ps3

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-08, 09:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
Folding for ocforums with a ps3


Is it against the rules to fold for you guys with my ps3 and computer ? Couldn't find anything with an answer to that one, also new to folding for teams, but not new to folding, just downloading the one click and pluging in my name folds for team 32 right?
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 09:45 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Against what rules?

You can fold with whatever you want

Yes, team 32

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 09:47 PM Thread Starter   #3
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
didn't know if you guys just wanted pc's or not seeing this is a pc forum but glad I can use the ps3, that thing is a folding beast.
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 09:49 PM   #4
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
Right now, it would be best put to use by changing the Username to T32monkeys.

For the Chimp Challenge.

__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:01 PM   #5
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
And a big to you and your PS3, as well.

All folding rigs are welcome.
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:21 PM Thread Starter   #6
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarriorII View Post
Right now, it would be best put to use by changing the Username to T32monkeys.

For the Chimp Challenge.
Roger that, username changed to T32monkeys, can you recommend any special settings for my pc? currently set to bigpackets=yes running the one-click with -Advmethods
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:28 PM   #7
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
What's the cpu and memory spec's, please?
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:31 PM Thread Starter   #8
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
AMD 4400+ at 2.607 ram DDR 400 at 435

__________________
Project: Inferno

Main Rig : Foxconn Blackops Q6600 @ 4.5ghz 1.6 : ATI Radeon HD 3870x2 : 2x1gig Patriot Viper DDR3 1800 7-7-7-20 T1 + 2x1gig Muskin DDR3 1800

Secondary Rig : MSI K9A2 Platinum : Phenom 9850BE stock : ATI Radeon HD 3870 : 4x1gig Patriot Viper DDR 1066

Heatware
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:36 PM   #9
jonspd
D11 Senior

 
jonspd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ATL, Ga

10 Year Badge
 
welcome to the team and I think you can fold with whatever you like

I try not to waste electricity on anything that doesn't product atleast 1k ppd however.

that set-up with the smp client should get around 1kppd

__________________

GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite
jonspd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:39 PM Thread Starter   #10
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
system is up 24/7 anyhoo, and 90% of the time is just idle

__________________
Project: Inferno

Main Rig : Foxconn Blackops Q6600 @ 4.5ghz 1.6 : ATI Radeon HD 3870x2 : 2x1gig Patriot Viper DDR3 1800 7-7-7-20 T1 + 2x1gig Muskin DDR3 1800

Secondary Rig : MSI K9A2 Platinum : Phenom 9850BE stock : ATI Radeon HD 3870 : 4x1gig Patriot Viper DDR 1066

Heatware
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 10:42 PM   #11
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
I'm an Intel guy, but I believe the 4400 would be hard put to make the SMP deadlines. They're so short - 3 or 4 days typically. Very disappointing to have done all that folding, only to see the deadline go by, and you're still folding at only 95%!

So I'd recommend two FAH uni-processor clients, either 5.02 or 5.04, one installed as a service, with big packets=yes, and the other installed as a console window, with big packets also = yes.

You've got the memory saxile!

The console window is just easier to stop when you need to do something that requires more computer resources, AND it's easier for a new folder to get to know the FAH client, if it's there as a window, also.

It's up 24/7 and idle 90% of the time?

I'd try the SMP client, then. If it doesn't work, you can always go back to the uni-processor folding programs.
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 11:06 PM   #12
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Actually Adak, if that 4400+ is overclocked and runs 24/7, it should make the deadline with time to spare. My Opty 165 at 2650 can do them with no problems. But now if it gets shut off for a significant amount of time it will miss the deadlines. I just checked and mine is presently working on a 2653 and it looks like it will complete it in around 36 hours.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-08, 11:44 PM   #13
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
36 hours........
but your points are a lot better too.

I'm glad I'm still getting 2605s. (17:26:17) -C2D

__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-08, 10:29 AM Thread Starter   #14
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
I can push my cpu a little higher, but isn't rock solid, fails in prime only, 2.8 is about my limit before crashing in everything due to vdroop. PS3 on the other hand finshes in less than 24 hours.
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-08, 11:01 AM   #15
jonspd
D11 Senior

 
jonspd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ATL, Ga

10 Year Badge
 
you should be alright around 2.6 IMHO thats where I stand with my 170 and normally finish with a day to spare.

__________________

GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite
jonspd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-08, 02:34 PM Thread Starter   #16
saxile
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virginia, USA

 
Yeah, course I figure where it's always just idling it'll have full use of all resources 24/5, only days I use it are Sat night and Sun, rest of the time I'm only home 3 waking hours so no time for it. Forums, email, and shopping all done on my moto q
saxile is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?