• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is this upgrade wasting my money!? Help save my budget!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bnason

Registered
Caveat: I'm a newb who just browses forums every couple of years looking for build advice. Here's my dilemma. Bought AOC. Runs like crap on my 24" monitor. So thinking it's time to invest in new hardware.

This is what I have now, purchased about 2 years ago, running XP:
CPU AMD x2 4400+
Mobo Abit a8n SLI
RAM DDR2 800 chips
PSU OCZ 600W Gamestream
GPU eVGA 7800GT
PSU OCZ Gamestream (600W)

Plus a few odds and ends I could carry over.

If I upgrade to the high-performance system linked here:
http://pcstats.com/ShoppingList.cfm

How much performance gain will I get? Is it enough to justify the cost?
I'm a newb when it comes to hardware, so any and all help is appreciated. I've been agonizing over an upgrade for awhile but not sure I'm gonna' get enough bang for the buck to justify it. I've also been reading that Intel is coming out with new chipsets *real* soon!?

If not building a new system... what shall I do with myself!!! :p Wait or upgrade or build new?"

Ben

Average. I'd replace the 680i with something a bit newer though, perhaps a 780i, or an intel chipset. And 232 bucks is just too expensive for 4gb of ddr2 800. Also replace the 8800GTX with a much cheaper 8800GT (will overclock much higher than that GTX core rev).

It will be a LARGE jump past what you have now.

Couple of q's -- thanks for the quick reply already!

(1) What are the pro/cons of going with the nVidia 780i, versus the intel chipsets (x35?)
(2) Is buying a video card now worth it? Heard that nVidia has new stuff coming out this summer (x280 or something?)
(3) Where do I get the performance jump from this? Is it mostly the AMD x2 -> Core Duo?

Ben