• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Battle of the titans Tt vs. Ultra vs. ABS, which one?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ZenDigital

Registered
Ok, This is my problem and it has been thus far the most stressing one of them all. I've been racking my brain trying to choose a PSU for about 3 months now and have finally narrowed it down to 3. All three are 1200w or more and some might say it's an overkill, but I'm also thinking along the lines of future upgrading. First, I'll list the rig..

My rig thus far consists of the following:

Intel E8500 or Q9450 (Still undecided)

EVGA 790i Ultra Mobo

OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Model# OCZ3P16004GK

Thermalright IFX-14 CPU cooler w/ 2 Scythe Slipstream 120mm fans

Dual Western Digital VelociRaptor 300Gb (When available)

Dual EVGA GeForce 9800 GX2 SSC (Maybe, may wait for GTX200's to come out)

Thermaltake Armor+ full tower.

Cooling, air-cooling all the way baby since my room temp rarely goes above 21°C

Now for the PSU's I've narrowed down to... Keep in mind, my highest priority is quality and long-term dependability.

1) Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower Modular.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5..._Ready_Power_Supply_W0156RU.html?tl=g11c26s87

The least expensive of the 3, so far this one's the slight front runner, mainly because it has the most reviews of them, and the only of the 3 to have been reviewed on Johnny GURU. But of the 3, it's also the least aesthetically pleasing, not a huge issue, but an issue nonetheless.

2) Ultra X3 1600W

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5...Ready_Power_Supply_ULT40070.html?tl=g11c26s87