Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

raid drivers

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-08, 12:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
antipacker
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: england

 
raid drivers


hi guys im going to re install windows xp trouble is i want to load my raid drivers but i have no floppy drive is there another way of doing so?

thanks in advance
antipacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 12:27 PM   #2
mrgreenjeans
Member

 
mrgreenjeans's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cleveland, GA

 
Load off a CD just punch F6 during initial setup and when promped, insert the CD and navigate to the location. Now this is only necessary if you are using the RAID as the boot drive. If not, you can set up after windows loads.

I know this is wrong but I'm assuming this is an onboard RAID and not an add-in card.

__________________
"A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing."
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe bios 1009 w/FX-60 on a Zalman Resterator
Corsair 2048 TwinX3500LL matched dual channel 1:1 @ 2-3-3-6
BFG8800GTXwc768 DVI~Sharp Aquos LC-46D92U
BFG Ageia PhysX card
36g Raptor boot, 150g Velociraptor game drive, and 320g storage drive
LG GGC-H20L BR & HD
Auzentech xPlosion 5.1 ~ Sony DA3ES Receiver~ Infinity's
Silverstone LC-10m w/Silverstone Strider ST60 PSU
Win XP pro
mrgreenjeans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 12:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
antipacker
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: england

 
it only asks for a floppy it wont let me select another location?
antipacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 03:03 PM   #4
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgreenjeans View Post
Load off a CD just punch F6 during initial setup and when promped, insert the CD and navigate to the location. Now this is only necessary if you are using the RAID as the boot drive. If not, you can set up after windows loads.

I know this is wrong but I'm assuming this is an onboard RAID and not an add-in card.
its XP, you cannot load raid drivers from a cd

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 03:31 PM   #5
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokie mcpott View Post
its XP, you cannot load raid drivers from a cd
That is correct.

Antipacker, you gonna have to get yourself a pos floppy drive just for the raid drivers. Maybe you can pick one up at a mom & pop pc repair place for about 5 bux or less. I only keep the floppy drive for 2 reasons: Flashing video cards & Installing raid drivers.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 03:36 PM Thread Starter   #6
antipacker
Disabled



Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: england

 
ok thanks guys
antipacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 03:53 PM   #7
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by antipacker View Post
ok thanks guys
Wish there was another way m8, but there ain't When you get the used floppy drive, be sure it's cleaned out from dust and crap. Some compressed air will do it. After you do your raid, save it. You'll never know when you'll need it again

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 04:00 PM   #8
BLHealthy4life
Member



Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC

 
Yep, floppy is the only way to go....

I keep one handy for installing RAID only...
BLHealthy4life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 04:29 PM   #9
ou_phidelt
Member

 
ou_phidelt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rockingham, NC

 
Also check second hand stores, I picked mine up for $3 at a habitat for humanity. Good place for a test monitor too, picked up a 19" CRT for $4. They had a ton of both.

__________________
HEAT
ou_phidelt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 06:37 PM   #10
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You could always use nLite to not only integrate the RAID driverset, but also slipstream the latest SP w/ the latest hotfixes and themes...

nLite v1.4.5 Final
http://www.nliteos.com/download.html

nLite - Guide
http://www.nliteos.com/guide/index.html

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 06:48 PM   #11
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
YES! Integrate those text mode drivers with nLite!!! I haven't used "F6" in years since I discovered nLite. I'd HIGHLY recommend slipstreaming SP3 Final with nLite, too

The only thing is I have found you still have to write a Floppy Disc for the Intel RAID drivers, and then copy the drivers off the floppy disk onto your Data partition. Then integrate them into nLite from the data partition. I haven't found out how to extract the drivers directly from the "F6 floppy exe" file w/o first writing to a floppy. But you can do that on ANY PC with a floppy drive (copy them to a USB Key once the floppy is written)


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 07:14 PM   #12
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You can extract the files from the Matrix Storage Manager, in this case using the latest version iata78_enu.exe (Ver:7.8.0.1012)...

Unattended installation instructions under Windows XP
http://www.intel.com/support/chipset.../cs-020825.htm

English: iata78_enu.exe
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=N&ProductID=2101&DwnldID=1484 8&strOSs=44&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Professiona l&lang=eng

Advanced Installation Instructions (referenced in the Unattended Installation instructions article above)
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/14848/ENG/readme.txt

For example after downloading the Storage Manager to my Desktop, and creating a new folder called RAID Drivers (under the root directory), I ran the following command from the Run box...

C:\Users\redduc900\Desktop\iata78_enu.exe -a -a -p"c:\raid drivers"

... which extracted the contents of the executable, which contains 3 folders... namely Docs, Driver, and Driver64.


Last edited by redduc900; 05-25-08 at 08:26 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-08, 09:19 PM   #13
Goshawk

 
Goshawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sprinkles!

 
+1

This was the only way i could get my DX38BT to do RAID 0 in windows XP... worked out awesome.



~ Gos


Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
You could always use nLite to not only integrate the RAID driverset, but also slipstream the latest SP w/ the latest hotfixes and themes...

nLite v1.4.5 Final
http://www.nliteos.com/download.html

nLite - Guide
http://www.nliteos.com/guide/index.html

__________________
______________________________
|
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
|Main Rig:
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|CPU: i7-3820 Sandybridge-E
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|Cooler: Zalman CNP10X Performa
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|Mobo: Intel DX79TO
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|RAM: 16gb Kingston HyperX 1600
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|VID: Asus GTX 580
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 620
|XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|CASE: DangerDen Q20
PDXlan-er - "Sprinkles" on Steam (PM me if you want to add me )
Battletag: Sprinkles#1137
Goshawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-08, 04:53 AM   #14
Stranger
New Member



Join Date: Aug 2008

 
Question Pain in the


Hey guys,

I also have a new DX38BT motherboard I've been wrestling with the last few days, trying to get XP loaded with RAID0. The mobo of course has no floppy connector. Tried USB floppy - no luck, then moved on to nLite.

First I got the latest driver from Intel, 8.5.0.1032 dated 7/20/2008. In nLite, added both the AHCI and RAID TEXT MODE ICHxR drivers to an XP Pro SP2 installation (I know I didn't need the AHCI, but figured it wouldn't do any harm either). Using this CD, during install it sees the hard disk, lets me partition it, etc. -- using a regular XP SP2 CD, I don't get this far. But shortly after the point where it says "Starting Windows" (but while still in text mode) it asks me to put the Intel Matrix driver in Drive A:.

I thought maybe I need the PNP driver in there also. So I made a new image with nLite. Added every text mode driver this time, and also added the PNP RAID driver (from the same driver folder with iastor.inf, etc.). Booting from this CD just locks up the PC even before any Windows XP setup screens show up.

So Goshawk, or anyone else who managed to get this damn thing working: How'd ya do it? Where am I messing up????


EDIT: Hmm -- after taking out 2 GB of RAM and leaving only 2 in, and also resetting memory timings to default, the original CD with the text-mode drivers worked.

Last edited by Stranger; 08-14-08 at 02:28 PM.
Stranger is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?