• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best CPU for me?!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

salsa88

I'm still trying to decide on a CPU I'm going to use my rig for gaming, movies and some CAD and Audio Recording/mixing (I'm a Audio/video tech in Vegas). I was first thinking about the q6600 as 4 cores would come in handy in the future. Then I was thinking about the E8600 because I was told I can get better OC scores and reach 4.0ghz easy. I know most (95%) of games only use 2 cores. I can get them around $150 E $200 Q. Is there a program or some way to use all 4 cores on a game?
Mobo will be a Asus P5E3 Deluxe BTW.

If I understand this correctly, the game has to be written differently for it to use multiple cores. And quad cores run hotter and can't reach as high of a frequency, so for most gaming a high clocked dual core runs faster than a medium clocked quad core.

I use the dual core E7200 and have it running at 4.0 Ghz, and it feels remarkably fast. It cost 130 at newegg.

A quad core would be nice in the future, when developers code for quad cores, but for me I figured I'd enjoy my cheap high clocked dual until that happens.

How does your E7200 compare with the E8400? Is the 1333MHZ worth getting the E8400?
I might get the E7200 and OC same as you and just upgrade it to a quad when its more usable in the future.
If you could would you mind sharing your OC setup on the E7200?

I'm not an expert, so if I'm wrong hopefully someone will jump in and tell us. :)