Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

"poor" performance with ssd?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-08, 02:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
asimov
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2008

 
"poor" performance with ssd?


hi
just recived 2x16gb mtron ssd and proceeded to set them up in raid0 on my 780i mb, but the results seems wierd compared to all the reviews ive seen.



wavy line instead of a straight one and not close to 240mb/sek as i should be getting?
tried updating the bios and didnt help so iam wondering if the raid controller on the mb could be a bottleneck or something?(although i read that nvidias controllers are good?)
asimov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-08, 07:59 PM   #2
dhc0329
Registered

 
dhc0329's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008

 
Software on board raid may not be appropriate for SSD. I know Intel matrix has an issue with SSD.
dhc0329 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-08, 08:45 PM   #3
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhc0329 View Post
Software on board raid may not be appropriate for SSD. I know Intel matrix has an issue with SSD.
ICH9R's are known for probs with ssd's .... not matrix raid seems as how that spans from ICH6R - the latest ICH10R

as per the picture its way to small to make ends of it.... run the long benchmark in hdtach for better results.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-08, 09:22 PM   #4
TazExtreme3
Member

 
TazExtreme3's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portage, Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
I'd hardly call that "poor performance". Random access 0.1ms 200+ MB/s Burst. The wavy line is because you need may to update the firmware on the drives. Here's a review on a single 16GB MTRON @ Anandtech to compare. And a quote from boards.ie of your possible problem with the wavy line.

Quote:
Well luckily and to my surprise, I couldn't be more wrong. I've always heard about using identical Raptors of the same firmware for optimal results, but I never imagined it would be the same story with the other drives, in my case with the Mtrons.
I rebooted to my bootable USB pendrive, ran the small flash utility I downloaded from the Mtron support page and I saw that my first Mtron's firmware was 16 R1 and my second's was 17 R1. So I flashed the "old" one and 30 seconds later I am back in the OS, running the same benchmarks on my RAID0 array. At this point I need to say that flashing the Mtron's firmware did not affect the data or the RAID array itself.
Well guess what? No I won't tell you, I think it's just time to post the screenshots

__________________
-Greg-

Asus G73JW: i7 740QM -- 8GB RAM -- OCZ Agility 2 80GB SSD -- 500GB HDD -- Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M
HTPC: Gigabyte H55N-USB3 -- i3 540 -- G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 1600 Ripjaws -- 500GB Hitachi -- 4TB Western Digital Green -- Sapphire 5770 Vapor X -- Corsair H50 -- SilverStone SUGO SG06
My Heatware

Last edited by TazExtreme3; 06-24-08 at 09:34 PM.
TazExtreme3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-08, 07:55 AM Thread Starter   #5
asimov
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TazExtreme3 View Post
I'd hardly call that "poor performance". Random access 0.1ms 200+ MB/s Burst. The wavy line is because you need may to update the firmware on the drives. Here's a review on a single 16GB MTRON @ Anandtech to compare. And a quote from boards.ie of your possible problem with the wavy line.
thus the " ", i just expected a similar graph to all the reviews, will def try the firmware upgrade! thanks!
asimov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-08, 02:39 PM Thread Starter   #6
asimov
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2008

 
my disks already had the newest firmware so it seems its something else, not idea what.
asimov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-08, 04:31 PM   #7
Maverick0984
Member

 
Maverick0984's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago

 
Try using HD Tune, and upping the block size bit?
Maverick0984 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?