• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can Q6600 OC to 4ghz On Fan Cooling??????

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

markgiles

Registered
Is it posiable for a Q6600 2.4ghz to reach 4ghz being stabel and on Fan cooling if so what would be the best set up such as M/B and psu and HSF. Also dos anybody know what the setting would need to be in the BIOS as i have looked on youtube and there is a guy who has managed to OC his 2.4ghz GO stepping to 4ghz but no information on weather he was using water cooling or fan

pleas e some on help im a noob on this stuff been reading on this fourm for like a week now trying to find information about his:(:(:(

this is what i have now as a set up but im going to b replacing certain thing such as case M/b hsf and graphics card.

CPU: Q6600 2.4ghz Go stepping
M/b: Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R Socket 775 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
PSU:Extra Value 650W ATX Silent PSU with 12cm fan/dual 12v rails 20+4pin
GRX:Asus 8500GT TOP Overclocked Edition 256MB DDR3 DVI VGA TVO PCI-E Graphics Card
RAM: Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory
Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5 Heat Spreader
HDD: Maxtor STM3160215AS 160GB SATAII 7200RPM 2MB Cache - OEM

it is highly unlikely you'll do it on air, but if you have an amazing Q6600 and you want to try, then I would suggest a lapped TRUE with two fans that are each capable of over 100CFM. If you have sensitive ears then I would try a water setup!

I would agree. 4Ghz on stock cooling is very unlikely. Also I was looking at this:

" Extra Value 650W ATX Silent PSU with 12cm fan/dual 12v rails 20+4pin"