• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please confirm these settings...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pro Noob

Disabled
Hey - As you can tell from my screen name, I'm new to overclocking but I've been in the IT industry for a while. Just built a new PC, and am only mildly overclocking it (which is all I'm interested in at the moment...I'll explain more later). Based on my research, I think my settings are good and they seem stable after running memtest86, Prime95, and Orthos.

Here's the rig:

Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R mobo
Intel E8400 @ 3.2 Ghz (400x8), stock voltage @ 1.1625V
OCZ Reaper 800 Mhz DDR2 PC6400 2GBx2 (4-4-4-12, 2T), 2.1V (+0.3V)
DRAM:FSB ratio = 1:1
EVGA 9600 GT @ 725/1750/1000
ABS Tagan BZ 800w PSU
Antec 900 case (moves lots of air!!)

My CPU temps are 28c idle/42c load. Case temp is approx. 25-30c. GPU temps are approx. 35c idle/47c load.

The reason I am not overclocking that much is because my Gigabyte board (as you may already know) has a current bios issue of CPU voltage changes not sticking (they default back to stock automatically). This can be bypassed by resetting CMOS, but vcore voltage will eventually default back to stock with the PC powered off for a few hours. Plus, I don't want to be a total jackoff and burn my stuff out right off the bat, being that I'm a noob. :)

Can someone please confirm if these are the the optimal settings at my current stock CPU voltage (i.e., is a 1:1 ratio optimal, and are these ram timings good for DDR800)? I don't want to **** with the CMOS every day, so until a bios update fixes the known issue, I plan to leave it like this.

Also, my 3DMark06 score is approx. 11285. I thought that was a little low, but perhaps not. Is that an acceptable score for my setup?