Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

quick question about P4 HT install

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-08, 02:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
U D13 N0W

 
U D13 N0W's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

 
quick question about P4 HT install


gotta quick question about installing on a P4 HT system. How do i go about setting up a client on the second core?
Im trying to run two seperate clients on this rig b/c it is not on too often so a SMP would be impractical.

__________________
Don't just waste your spare CPU cycles, Fold for T32

Main rig- Dell Inspiron 9300, Pentium M SL7SM 2.0GHz/2M/533, 2GB mem., ATI M300, Win XP. Undervolted for some nice icy laptop temps
Folding rigs- 4X AOpen i915GMm-N, 1GB mem. each, Pentium Ms each OCed to 2.4GHz
(yes i finally got them all to 2.4)
All 11.6GHz folding for T32

RIP Official OCF podcast
U D13 N0W is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-08, 02:57 PM   #2
drshivas
Sith Lord

 
drshivas's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland, USA

10 Year Badge
 
While you can run two instances of a single core client on a HT enabled P4, Stanford asks that you do not. It slows down the science being done b/c it takes longer for two units to be completed. Besides, the ppd gain from doing so isn't that dramatic.

If you choose to do so, make two separate folders, fah1 and fah2, and select advanced setup options when setting your config. The last option should be machine id. Set the first instance in fah1 folder to 1 and the second instance in fah2 folder to 2.
drshivas is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-08, 06:12 PM   #3
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
The last time I tried doing this, the gain in PPD was not worth the slowdown as far as the science is concerned IMO. Just keep in mind, the P4 with HT is not a true dual core, instead it basically "virtualizes" a second core, so Winderz will still think it is a dual core CPU. Even though Task Manager will say you are only folding at 50%, you are actually folding at 100% (I like to think of this as a flaw in Microsofts programming). By running 2 clients simultaneously, you are essentially only using half the core to run one WU, while the other half is working the other. Depending on which P4 it is, it may be able to just barely make SMP deadlines, as I know ChasR has a few folding SMP. I do believe they are pretty dedicated to be able to make the SMP deadlines.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-08, 04:43 PM Thread Starter   #4
U D13 N0W

 
U D13 N0W's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadlysyn View Post
The last time I tried doing this, the gain in PPD was not worth the slowdown as far as the science is concerned IMO. Just keep in mind, the P4 with HT is not a true dual core, instead it basically "virtualizes" a second core, so Winderz will still think it is a dual core CPU. Even though Task Manager will say you are only folding at 50%, you are actually folding at 100% (I like to think of this as a flaw in Microsofts programming). By running 2 clients simultaneously, you are essentially only using half the core to run one WU, while the other half is working the other. Depending on which P4 it is, it may be able to just barely make SMP deadlines, as I know ChasR has a few folding SMP. I do believe they are pretty dedicated to be able to make the SMP deadlines.
Thanks for the info. I hadn't known all the details with HT. It sounds like a sales scam to make people think they are getting more for their money. Glad to know I'm actually getting 100% of the CPU on the folding. Also thanks to drshivas

__________________
Don't just waste your spare CPU cycles, Fold for T32

Main rig- Dell Inspiron 9300, Pentium M SL7SM 2.0GHz/2M/533, 2GB mem., ATI M300, Win XP. Undervolted for some nice icy laptop temps
Folding rigs- 4X AOpen i915GMm-N, 1GB mem. each, Pentium Ms each OCed to 2.4GHz
(yes i finally got them all to 2.4)
All 11.6GHz folding for T32

RIP Official OCF podcast
U D13 N0W is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-08, 06:46 PM   #5
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
It wasn't really a sales scam. There was something implemented in the architecture that makes it work somewhat like a dual core, but doesn't quite get close to the same speed increase. What you are likely to see is just a 30% increase, but at the time, you will still be slowing down the WU's which is bad for the science. Here is a Wiki article about HT that I have found. Hope this helps understand it a bit.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-08, 12:49 AM Thread Starter   #6
U D13 N0W

 
U D13 N0W's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

 
thanks for the info

__________________
Don't just waste your spare CPU cycles, Fold for T32

Main rig- Dell Inspiron 9300, Pentium M SL7SM 2.0GHz/2M/533, 2GB mem., ATI M300, Win XP. Undervolted for some nice icy laptop temps
Folding rigs- 4X AOpen i915GMm-N, 1GB mem. each, Pentium Ms each OCed to 2.4GHz
(yes i finally got them all to 2.4)
All 11.6GHz folding for T32

RIP Official OCF podcast
U D13 N0W is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-08, 03:59 PM   #7
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Glad I could be of some help. I just personally set up the SMP client on my 530J, but that is with a pretty good OC. I am hoping that it will make deadlines. It hasn't quite been long enough to get a PPD or TPF estimate from either FAHSpy or FAHMon, but as soon as I have those numbers, I will be sure to post them up.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?