Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Weird Problem with Biostar TF8200 A2+

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-08, 05:01 AM Thread Starter   #1
tripwire
Member

 
tripwire's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dixon, California

 
Weird Problem with Biostar TF8200 A2+


So, I just put together a system with the aforementioned mobo, and am running an 5000+ Brisbane Black Edition CPU. In the bios I'm able to adjust the multiplier and it registers the change in CPU speed; but when I load up Vista, it seems to revert back to default. I'm at a loss and I have no idea why it keeps reverting like that.

Any ideas?
tripwire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-02-08, 09:24 AM   #2
grndragon57
Member



Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catskills

 
Try posting over here:

http://www.rebelshavenforum.com/sis-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

They Have a forum on Biostar motherboards and there are a number of people that use that board.

__________________
AMD Phenom II 720 BE @ 3800mhz, Asus Crosshair II Formula, 2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black 800 4-4-4-12, Xigmatek 1283 Dark Knight, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair 550VX, Cooler Master NV690 Case,
grndragon57 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-08, 02:52 PM Thread Starter   #3
tripwire
Member

 
tripwire's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dixon, California

 
Thanks for the site. I posted a thread over there, but no luck yet.

I'm starting to get really annoyed. I just don't get why the bios will report the changed multiplier and a new CPU Clock, but then for some reason it goes right back to 13x as soon as Vista boots.
tripwire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-08, 08:16 PM Thread Starter   #4
tripwire
Member

 
tripwire's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dixon, California

 
The kind folks at Rebel's Haven helped me figure out my problem. Turns out the PowerNow setting in the bios was interfering with the change in multiplier under Windows. So, if anyone ever has this problem, just disable PowerNow in the CPU Config menu.
tripwire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-08, 09:11 PM   #5
grndragon57
Member



Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catskills

 
How do you like the 8200?

__________________
AMD Phenom II 720 BE @ 3800mhz, Asus Crosshair II Formula, 2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black 800 4-4-4-12, Xigmatek 1283 Dark Knight, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair 550VX, Cooler Master NV690 Case,
grndragon57 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 11:34 AM   #6
air00
Registered

 
air00's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008

 
you have to turn off the cool&quit mode oin the bios
air00 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?