• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

hot-swapping satas

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
from what i can tell you have to have a chipset that will support such a procedure and though i have no experience with it it looks like the nf3/nf4 chipsets do in fact support this feature. again i have no experience with it and im sure you have to somehow unmount the drive before removal, how this is done in windows properly im not sure of either, but there are a lot of google hits that come up if you feel like digging through them.

having your hardware handy will more easily file down the results as well. unfortunatly thats all i can give you but i am interested to know how and for what hardware this works.

*edit* this was a fairly informative read, and highlights some of the dangers in doing it unproperly - http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected]/msg00150.html

Last edited:
Listed as compatible are silicon image controllers. I'm not sure what I have, but it's on an abit ic7-g motherboard, and it sure isn't anything on that list - actually, I have an intel ultra ata storage controller - not suprising since it's a board made for an intel cpu.

It isn't limited to SI controllers. Read the whole page. It works for me with my Intel ICH9R and my JMicron JMB363.

Listed as compatible are silicon image controllers. I'm not sure what I have, but it's on an abit ic7-g motherboard, and it sure isn't anything on that list - actually, I have an intel ultra ata storage controller - not suprising since it's a board made for an intel cpu.