• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What's better for SETI

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Alex99

I'm new to SETI just starting to use it. I hope this question hasn't been already addressed, but here goes. Does memory bandwidth play a big role in performance? For example, which of the below system would SETI run faster on:

P4 1.5 with RDRAM (big memory bandwidth, but not great CPU)

OR

AthlonXP 1900+ with SDRAM (superior CPU speed/performance, but inferior memory bandwidth)

THANKS! I just joined OC SETI team

You'll get better times with the XP.

As a rule, memory bandwidth is better for SETI but you're comparing apples and oranges when it comes to a P4 and XP.

The XP just crunches better than the P4 and the memory bandwidth doesn't come into play so much.

If you can get an XP and DDR combo you'll be looking at just over 3 hour WU times.

Cool, thanks Jon. I take it my system (in my sig) should fly with SETI. I haven't really notice it as I haven't really started it on my home system. I've done some WUs at work (on PII 400, yuk)

Should get low 3 hour completion times with that no problem. My 8KHA+ has a regular TBird in it and is clocked at 1.6GHz with 160MHz on the FSB and it averages 3:45, so with an XP I would imagine at least 20-30 minutes shaved off of that.

Looking at 7+ a day out of that rig which is great and will get you in the top 50 crunchers...probably catapult you into the top 50 completion time after a while as well, dependng on how many high completion time WUs you've transmitted with that 400 and whatever you used previously.

I've got a couple of XP 1600s on the way myself, putting together a dual AMD rig with Asus' new MPX board. Those XPs sure do spit out the WUs!

Sure are happy to have you on the team! Welcome aboard!