Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

9800GTX 3dmark Vantage score question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-08, 12:26 AM Thread Starter   #1
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
9800GTX 3dmark Vantage score question


I just bought a 9800GTX and I was wondering if this seems low to anyone. Performance mode @ 1280x1024, 9800GTX overclocked to 750/1200

P6176

gpu: 6110
cpu:6382

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 12:31 AM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Here is what I scored:

775/1938/1100

837/2068/1200

Seems like you are using the non-CUDA drivers...


Here you go:

Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras
Drivers:
I get my drivers from LaptopVideo2Go.com. He does a very good job in updating the drivers and getting them out quickly.

XP 32bit 177.35

XP 64bit 177.35

Vista 32bit 177.35
Vista 64bit 177.35

You will need to download the drivers AND the modified INF file on that page. When the drivers download, run the .exe (it is an extraction program) and it will create a folder on the desktop (example: 177.35_winxp64). Place the modified INF file in the folder, overwriting the existing one. Run the installer normally (setup.exe in the extracted folder) and reboot your computer.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 12:41 AM Thread Starter   #3
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Thanks I will update my drivers.

The other thing - my CPU score is 6K, its an E7200, it was running at 3.4ghz when I ran that test.

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 12:41 AM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Ah, ok, that isn't bad for the driver you are running though. Change them out and you should beat my first score easily.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 12:46 AM Thread Starter   #5
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Ah, ok, that isn't bad for the driver you are running though. Change them out and you should beat my first score easily.
I mean it shows your proc getting 33K, I dont understand why your E3110 would crush my proc so bad.

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 12:46 AM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Same View Post
I mean it shows your proc getting 33K, I dont understand why your E3110 would crush my proc so bad.
It is the drivers

Install them and be amazed.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:18 AM   #7
shmutheprophet
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
It is the drivers

Install them and be amazed.
Wow thats amazing. Strange how it effects CPU score and not GPU scores. Anyways about to run it =)
shmutheprophet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:21 AM   #8
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shmutheprophet View Post
Wow thats amazing. Strange how it effects CPU score and not GPU scores. Anyways about to run it =)
to the forums!

It actually enables CUDA on the card. The reason it is so high is because it now does physics on the GPU. The GPU can do many many more floating point operations (what most of physics is) than the CPU can.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:42 AM Thread Starter   #9
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Thanks for the help so far thirderas and the suggested drivers. However with the new drivers and a 775/1200 overclock I still get 6237 and 6265, maybe its an option in the nvidia control panel, I'm going to chekc that out.

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:45 AM Thread Starter   #10
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
After looking in the nVidia control panel, I could not find anything, this is kinda wierd.

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:48 AM   #11
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
If you got the same score, the drivers did not install. Completely remove them (add/remove program + Driver Cleaner Pro + deleting the nVidia folder in C:\) and restart. Make sure the resolution is really low when Windows starts, that means the drivers were removed and it isn't using them. THEN install the 177.35's

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 01:54 AM Thread Starter   #12
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
If you got the same score, the drivers did not install. Completely remove them (add/remove program + Driver Cleaner Pro + deleting the nVidia folder in C:\) and restart. Make sure the resolution is really low when Windows starts, that means the drivers were removed and it isn't using them. THEN install the 177.35's
Thanks, I'll try this now.

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 02:23 AM Thread Starter   #13
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Alright I am absolutely sure I have the 177.35 drivers installed but I am still getting the same low score

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 02:30 AM   #14
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Open the nVidia control panel and go to Help<System Information. It will tell you the driver version it is using. What does yours say?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 02:36 AM   #15
Badbonji

 
Badbonji's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK

 
PhysX drivers = cheating :P anyway as most games do not use Physx, so it doesn't matter as much but it helps in games that do use it though.

__________________
i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | EVGA GTX680 SC 1254/1500MHz | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz
Badbonji is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 03:03 AM Thread Starter   #16
Same
Member

 
Same's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland, US

 
Fixed.

DLed the latest PhysX drivers and nVidia beta drivers. Now I get:

P7892

GPU: 6321
CPU: 31022

__________________
Processor: Intel Core i7 8320 3.6ghz @ 4.3ghz
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 (2 x 8GB)
Motherboard: GA-X79-UP4
Graphics: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition OC
HDD: 1TB (2 x 500GB)
Case: Zalman Z12 Plus
OS: 1TB Win Server 2012. 1TB Linux
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
Monitor: Hannspree 28" & Samsung 23"

Asus Infinity 10.1" Tablet, nVidia Tegra4 w/1GB RAM, ASUS TF700T, 1920x1080 Screen
Android 4.2.2 dualboot w/Ubuntu 13.10
Same is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 07:16 AM   #17
omni
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada Eh?

 
Thanks for the tips on the drivers, maybe this will help my score as I seem to have really crappy experience when I play Crysis. Slows down really bad after a while, but I think I'm not the only one, I'm hopeing I can get a water kit for the card and solve the cooling problem as I think thats the reason it does it.
omni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 07:27 AM   #18
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
omni - if you think it's overheating you could run Rivatuner in the background while playing and have it log temperatures or even just leave the graph for temps open, when you quit out of the game it will show the recent temps.

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-08, 08:47 AM   #19
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Same View Post
Fixed.

DLed the latest PhysX drivers and nVidia beta drivers. Now I get:

P7892

GPU: 6321
CPU: 31022
Awesome, glad to hear you got it figured out

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-08, 10:23 AM   #20
killuazaoldyeck
Member

 
killuazaoldyeck's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: So-Cal

 
where did you get your udpate driver? link?

Last edited by killuazaoldyeck; 07-16-08 at 04:55 PM.
killuazaoldyeck is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?