• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

from 3870 to 4870 = lower score in 3dmark06 =(

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wakoo

hi everyone,

I'm new to the overclocking and pretty much high end pc's. here is my problem, i had 2 3870's in crossfire and i got around 13400 in 3dmark06 now i just got a HIS 4870 and when i ran 3dmark06 i got 12300 =(

im using an ASUS M3A32-MVP mobo
HIS 4870
Phenom 9850
and ddr2 1066 RAM GSkill

first thing that's bothering me is that GPU-Z doesn't even say my PCI-E is 2.0, im not sure if that matters but i've seen some screenshots that say it and the other thing is that my mem looks like its not running like 1066. Here are some screenshots, if you guys need more tell me what to take and i'll post it. i would really love some feedback because i don't want to have to go back to the 3970's. although im not even sure if they are better than 1 single 4870.

gpuz.jpg

The 4870 blows away the CF'd 3870s, I would say you probably need to make sure your using the hotfix drivers or the beta 8.7s Your CPU is also holding back your score quite a bit.

Try the drivers, or do a clean install with new drivers as sometimes old drivers can cause major performance issues.

One other thing to remember is the 4870 is actually notorious for having better game performance than 3dmark performance. You may test it out and see how it runs in games...

:welcome: to OCF!

hi and thanks for the reply. i was just testing it on Age of Conan and infact i am getting 20 more fps ingame. ill try a fresh install later on but its weird how the score went down. i am using the hotfix drivers but i still get 12k in 3dmark. My cpu score was like 3300 =/