Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Extreme Cooling
Extreme Cooling Below ambient cooling is extreme. The crazies discuss chillers, phase change, dry ice, & liquid nitrogen in here...
Forum Jump

Is it possible to use liquid nitrogen as refrigerant?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-08, 02:45 PM Thread Starter   #1
freak11
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sillicon Valley

 
Is it possible to use liquid nitrogen as refrigerant?


Is it possible to use liquid nitrogen as refrigerant when connected to a compressor?
freak11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 03:19 PM   #2
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
No, not even close.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 03:38 PM   #3
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I don't think nitrogen can be a liquid at room temperature, so the "phase change" effect would be non-existent.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 07:09 PM   #4
NoL
Member

 
NoL's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA

 
Yes, however its a completely different kind of refrigerant.
Anything can be a refrigerant really.

Nitrogen is R728, and requires either a heavy duty cascading system, a heavy duty cyclic autocascade, or a very very high pressure cascade.
NoL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 07:43 PM   #5
tonadoocing

 
tonadoocing's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
has that ever been done on this forum that wold be pretty cool prob like minus 300 cant you also use propane to cool your system and i also saw at a hospital a huge tank and condenser and radiator with an iceburg on it what is that used for jw that could cool something
tonadoocing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 08:05 PM   #6
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I don't think nitrogen can be a liquid at room temperature, so the "phase change" effect would be non-existent.
true, accept thats in a open system. if in a tank/loop things change alot.

but as said not really practical.

__________________
CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, WD5001AALS, WD10EZRX, WD10EZRX,
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: 2x Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 08:44 PM   #7
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonadoocing View Post
has that ever been done on this forum that wold be pretty cool prob like minus 300
btw, its not possible to go below absolute zero (-273.15) and no-one has even got there yet.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 08:45 PM   #8
NoL
Member

 
NoL's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA

 
-273.15C
You can use propane, it has a atmospheric boiling point of -41C.
NoL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-08, 08:47 PM   #9
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoL View Post
-273.15C
just looked it up on wiki but u got ere b4 i fixd it.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-08, 12:00 AM   #10
NoL
Member

 
NoL's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA

 
And the closest was -273.14999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999C by nitrogen gas cooled with some very powerful and high tech systems. Of course a zero load situation as well.
NoL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-08, 06:23 AM   #11
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoL View Post
And the closest was -273.14999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999C by nitrogen gas cooled with some very powerful and high tech systems. Of course a zero load situation as well.
yeah, didnt they do it with only like 10 molecules of the stuff. Bose einstein condensate is it not?

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-08, 04:30 PM   #12
HDCHOPPER

 
HDCHOPPER's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
ya time travel

__________________
Working on my I7 Asus P6T SE build
feel free to donate lol
HDCHOPPER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-08, 08:55 PM   #13
tonadoocing

 
tonadoocing's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
ya was talking Fahrenheit lol
how can i start to make a water chiller prob have hoses running outside so i have more room and quiet
tonadoocing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 10:55 AM   #14
NoL
Member

 
NoL's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA

 
If your looking for the cheap but inefficienct way, get a window ac and dunk the evap (or cold end for some of you as far as terms go) into a bucket.
NoL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-08, 02:35 PM   #15
Madz
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AA, Michigan

 
Even if you could do it, I dont think it would work well because of the Leidenfrost effect. (im not thermo dynamics specialist or anything its just a guess) Beside the condensing equipment for that would be very very large. liquid nitrogen expands 700x its volume so the pressure would be pretty huge.

Last edited by Madz; 07-19-08 at 02:37 PM. Reason: typo
Madz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-08, 10:38 PM   #16
Hipcrostino
Member

 
Hipcrostino's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoL View Post
And the closest was -273.14999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999C by nitrogen gas cooled with some very powerful and high tech systems. Of course a zero load situation as well.
thats damn close, but as we have to use energy to draw energy away (which makes it cold) 0K is impossible to reach.

heres a hypothetical, if you could cool a processor to -273.149c would it become really really slow, no matter the hz?

__________________
i7 2600k
Water cooled
AsRock z68 Extreme4
Corsair 1600mhz cl7 4gb
EVGA 580GTX
OCZ Revo x2 220GB
Corsair 750W PSU
2x 22" LCD monitors (1 is 120hz)
Hipcrostino is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-08, 11:35 PM   #17
Deanzo
Benchmarking Senior Member

 
Deanzo's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipcrostino View Post

heres a hypothetical, if you could cool a processor to -273.149c would it become really really slow, no matter the hz?
A processor (CPU) will just stop working at X temp (aka coldbug), I'm yet to see a slowdown, they work or they don't.
The best I've done so far is -187 with an X6800 sitting idle in windoz.
As long as I stayed under that temp it worked fine.

If the hardware had no issue running at -273.149c (note: with even a small load you wouldn't get that low) I can't see why another -86 would matter that much.



The guy that takes care of my liquid nitrogen needs, has some great tech cooling toys.

He can turn liquid hydrogen, superfluid. Very cool!

__________________
My Heatware

icebob: Do we have to flip the screen upside down to see you Dean!!!!
Deanzo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-08, 11:36 PM   #18
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I don't think nitrogen can be a liquid at room temperature, so the "phase change" effect would be non-existent.
Hence the term phase change Cool it to a liquid as it warms it becomes gas and goes through the process over again.. at least I think thats what phase change means

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDCHOPPER View Post
ya time travel
Excellent Xfiles refernce

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-08, 12:22 AM   #19
MrTurd Ferguson
Member

 
MrTurd Ferguson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Why not just route the hoses through your mother-in-laws hands...that should chill it down pretty good shouldn't it?

__________________
Alex Trebek: Mr. Reynolds has apparently changed his name to Turd Ferguson.

Burt Reynolds: Yeah, that's right. Turd Ferguson. It's a funny name.

HEAT...It's what's for dinner
MrTurd Ferguson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-08, 08:17 AM   #20
someone1029
Member

 
someone1029's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipcrostino View Post
thats damn close, but as we have to use energy to draw energy away (which makes it cold) 0K is impossible to reach.
heres a hypothetical, if you could cool a processor to -273.149c would it become really really slow, no matter the hz?
Yep, that's exactly right. It has been noted that as temperature tends towards 0K (-273.15C) the energy required tends towards infinity and is therefore impossible to get to 0K

With your 'hypothetical' question I would say that even a processor that has no 'cold bug' that it would stop working anyway. As temperatures drop towards 0K matter's volume tends towards 0, so if it were possible to get to 0K the matter theoretically wouldn't exist, bye bye super expensive CPU!! Also it has been observed that as temperatures get towards get closer to 0K that the properties of the matter change drasticly, so the CPU wouldn't function with those new properties.
someone1029 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Extreme Cooling
Extreme Cooling Below ambient cooling is extreme. The crazies discuss chillers, phase change, dry ice, & liquid nitrogen in here...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?