Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

A board that can handle 8GB RAM

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-08, 08:01 AM Thread Starter   #1
Molybdym
Member

 
Molybdym's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carrboro, NC

 
A board that can handle 8GB RAM


I've been building computers for a couple of years now, and i feel pretty confident in my choices; until this last build. I went with a Gigabyte p35-DS3L, Q9300, and 8GB RAM (G-Skill). I was dual booting XP and Ubuntu 8.04-64bit. Things were fine and dandy, but when working in linux, the rig kept freezing. Doing work in XP - everything's fine. So I ran Memtest on the four sticks of pc8500, and errors galore. All the settings were correct; voltage and timings. I thought, bad sticks, so I RMAed them. When the new set came in, same exact problem. I raised a stink with newegg, and got them to take back the RAM and credit the account so I could purchase another company's product. I picked up 8GB of Mushkin's pc8500. SAME PROBLEM!! Mushkin's support was great and walked me through everything possible. The board won't even run 8GB at 667MHz. So I've come to the conclusion - this board (and probably the chipset) can not handle 8GB of 1066 RAM. Just not enough juice. In investigating this, Gigabyte's site has only 1GB sticks working at 1066.


Really long story short - does anyone have proof of any p35 board running 8GB of 1066? If not, does anyone have proof of any x38 board running the same setup? I'm at wits end. It's been 7 weeks now, and I have not been able to run the system at full throttle. I'm either going to have to try again for newegg to credit me (let's face it, odds seem slim), so I can get pc6400, or cough up +$200 for another MB that can handle the 8GB.

Thanks in advance to this community.
Molybdym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-17-08, 08:39 AM   #2
Krypto
Member

 
Krypto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 30°3′15″N, 95°23′13″W

 
There are a ton of boards out there that will support 8GB 1066 at the very least.

Here's just 1 example.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131196

__________________
MB EVGA 790i Ultra SLI
CPU Intel Q9450 @ 3.4GHz | 1.3v
RAM Patriot 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Sector 5
HDD WD Velociraptor 300GB
EXT BlacX w/ 150GB Raptor X
GPU 3 x EVGA GeForce GTX 560 (2-SLI)
DISP 3 x 20" Acer Widescreen LCD
PSU Corsair HX1000
CASE Antec Nine Hundred
HSF AC Freezer 7 Pro
OS Vista Ultimate 64
3DMARK Vantage P21442
Krypto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 09:11 AM Thread Starter   #3
Molybdym
Member

 
Molybdym's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carrboro, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krypto View Post
There are a ton of boards out there that will support 8GB 1066 at the very least.

Here's just 1 example.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131196
Thanks. But my current board supports 1066, just not 8GB worth. According to their "supported" memory list, under the 1066 speed, the largest module they listed as being supported was 1GB (running at 1.8v), so i'd imagine 4GB total (I'll eat some humble pie on finding this out after the purchase). And in researching other p35 board for purchase, when looking at the manufacturer's site, it's the same story, largest module supported at 1066 is 1GB. I just don't think there's enough voltage running to the DIMMs and the MCH. I had the memory at 2.2v and the MCH at +0.3v (frankly, I don't remember what the 'stock' voltage is for this chipset, but +0.3v was the highest i could set it to).
So just because the listing says it supports 1066, with further investigation it may not support large amounts of that speed. I was hoping to find someone here that has this etup running.
Molybdym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 09:39 AM   #4
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Well, my X48 runs just fine with 8GB of 800 (XP 32, Vista 64, and Gentoo 64)... not sure I want to risk killing it by trying to get it to 1066, though, I can't afford more memory at the moment

Only thing I can suggest is to make sure you're using RAM that only needs 1.8v (either http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231195 for 4x2GB ($274) or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231194 for 2x2GB ($135)). The 8GB of PQI in my system is 1.8v.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 09:45 AM Thread Starter   #5
Molybdym
Member

 
Molybdym's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carrboro, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
Only thing I can suggest is to make sure you're using RAM that only needs 1.8v. The 8GB of PQI in my system is 1.8v.
Crud, that's what I was thinking. I had a hard time finding 2GB sticks that ran at that voltage. Do you have a link to the RAM you're using?
As a side note, I thought x48 boards used DDR3? Have you clocked it down to 800 for a reason? Just interested.
Molybdym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 09:53 AM   #6
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
1. My RAM is 800, not 1066. I would attempt an OC to 1066, but I can't afford any more stuff right now, so don't want to risk breaking it.
2. I just linked you a couple sets of 2GB 1.8v 1066 (1100, actually). Seems cheaper to get two of the 2x2GB sets, but don't know if a 4x2GB set is better "matched" for OC'ing.
3. There are quite a few X38/X48 DDR2 boards.

I have 2 of this.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats

Last edited by petteyg359; 07-17-08 at 10:06 AM.
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 10:05 AM Thread Starter   #7
Molybdym
Member

 
Molybdym's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carrboro, NC

 
At this point, two sets of 2x2GB or one set of 4x2GB is not a concern, I just want my rig to work. I'm checking right now to see if my friends can pool their pc6400 sticks to end up with 8GB at 1.8v, then I'll see if that can do it; narrow down further the voltage issue.
Molybdym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 02:47 PM Thread Starter   #8
Molybdym
Member

 
Molybdym's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carrboro, NC

 
So newegg took back my pc8500, and in some research, I'm going to grab 8GB of their pc6400, running at 1.8v. I suspect the voltage was the issue the entire time. Thanks for the heads up.
Molybdym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:22 PM   #9
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
DDR2-1100 isn't worth an extra $60 after rebate to you?

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?