Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

BIP II not enough for e7200?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-08, 03:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
BIP II not enough for e7200?


Well,
I'm currently running my e7200 @ 3.8 (400x9.5) with 1.300vCore BIOS // 1.280vDroop and getting temps up to 49 ~ 50C...it tends to drop down to 45 ~ 50C here and there. Is the BIP II not enough for my CPU? I have a Yate Loon High and a high speed panaflo on it now.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:40 PM   #2
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
I hated myblack ice rad... what fans are you using on it? nm you said LOL Need lots of pressure and high CFM for it. The panaflo should be good yates are highly recommended because they run well at lower voltage not because they are really great fans.. so I gather. I do not believe they have the pressure needed for a bip rad,
the panaflo.. .dpends on the model but it should have the pressure required... get a second that should help.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:40 PM   #3
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Sounds like it isn't making full contact or there is something else going on. That radiator should handle a quad.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:44 PM   #4
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
yah corey makes a good point. Check contact, and also.. what does the rest of your loop consist off (blocks and pump)

new/used vinegar bathed?

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:48 PM   #5
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
BIPII is more then enough for a dual core...those temps are about 20c lower then what i get on air with my ninja and denkis on 6v. im running the same speed but only use 1.28v to be stable. To me your temps look fine but then im prolly the one here...

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 03:54 PM Thread Starter   #6
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Sounds like it isn't making full contact or there is something else going on. That radiator should handle a quad.
Hmm...this is the first time I mounted it, used a small bb size dab right in the middle of the CPU as usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
yah corey makes a good point. Check contact, and also.. what does the rest of your loop consist off (blocks and pump)

new/used vinegar bathed?

Just a res & MCP655 - oh the block is Apogee GT...I took it apart and scrubbed it out before I even used it, some metal shavings in there...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
BIPII is more then enough for a dual core...those temps are about 20c lower then what i get on air with my ninja and denkis on 6v. im running the same speed but only use 1.28v to be stable. To me your temps look fine but then im prolly the one here...

Hmm I'm up to 1.296vDroop...Prime95 failed on core 0 in 30 minutes. Right now I'm sitting at 48C on both cores full loaded...


I'm wondering if Yate Loon High's in PUSH/PULL would help? I'm not wanting to go and drop 50$ in fans....I know the yates are dirt cheap.




I'm noticing they fluctuate a lot...usually between 45 ~ 50C.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:11 PM   #7
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
what is the cpuvtt and other settings? you may just need a touch more cpuv or cpuvtt to be stable.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:26 PM Thread Starter   #8
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
All other voltages are stock...VVT = 1.50v

I've heard with 45nm chips not to go any higher than 1.60v on the VVT - and yes it was one bump up, like....1/8th of a .1v lol.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:28 PM   #9
updawg
StarCraft II Fanatic

 
updawg's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: NOVA

 
I hate the BB method, I take a razor blade and spread an extremely thin layer completely over the cpu. For best contact I lapped both my waterblock and processor with that wet sandpaper kit. I use a BIPII with my processor in the loop and I usually get like a few degrees above ambient.
updawg is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #10
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Yeah that's how stock was...Idle was 28C, load was 32C...I guess a re-mount is in order once I'm off work.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:36 PM   #11
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
No need to spend another 50 bucks in fans...

You can find panaflos pretty cheap in the forums. one more should cover the rad just fine, sure pushpull is better but not enough better to make it worth spending that much money.


Best bet is to install the thicker gasket on your block. Supposed to make a big differnce.


That VTT is only one bump up? thats crazy.

EDIT: For c2d its not a BB its a line of thermal paste

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 04:54 PM Thread Starter   #12
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
No need to spend another 50 bucks in fans...

You can find panaflos pretty cheap in the forums. one more should cover the rad just fine, sure pushpull is better but not enough better to make it worth spending that much money.


Best bet is to install the thicker gasket on your block. Supposed to make a big differnce.


That VTT is only one bump up? thats crazy.

EDIT: For c2d its not a BB its a line of thermal paste
Hmmm...I thought it was a line for quads. High Speed Yates are only like $3.50 a fan so it's pretty cheap to push/pull with 88cfm. I'm going to have to remount with a line instead to see if that makes the difference.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 05:10 PM   #13
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziggo0 View Post
All other voltages are stock...VVT = 1.50v

I've heard with 45nm chips not to go any higher than 1.60v on the VVT - and yes it was one bump up, like....1/8th of a .1v lol.
well my setting is mch =1.33v cpuvtt=1.21v, so your using more cpuvtt then i think you need to be using, possibly up NB-V one notch.

*edit*
zig, i double checked but i didnt see you post what board your using...

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-08, 06:46 PM Thread Starter   #14
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Small update...425x9.5....1.368vDroop...temps no higher than 56C.....

Edit: 58C now....gonna remount.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
well my setting is mch =1.33v cpuvtt=1.21v, so your using more cpuvtt then i think you need to be using, possibly up NB-V one notch.

*edit*
zig, i double checked but i didnt see you post what board your using...
Oh my bad, I didn't see this post. I didn't mean VVT, I mean't CPU PLL is 1.5, VVT is set to STOCK, which is...wait a minute, what is ASUS's version of VVT?

I'm running a P5k Deluxe Wifi.




Thats what it looked like when i pulled it off, BB method

__________________
My Heatware

Last edited by ziggo0; 07-17-08 at 07:07 PM.
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 12:14 AM   #15
bryan_d
Member

 
bryan_d's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA

 
I think you are putting too much paste. I prefer to be able to see the metal in both the block and cpu.

Try the line or a smaller BB... i use the grain of rice method (jasmine)

Good luck,

bryan d

__________________
Warning: Ethyl Glycol Can Kill!
G73JH SSD FirePro Mod
Dell XPS Studio 435 MT Xeon W3520, 6GB Triple Channel, FX 3500, SSD

Heatware
bryan_d is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 01:31 AM Thread Starter   #16
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Hmm well the line I used is way more than the BB...guess I'll try a grain of rice size.

I'm having temp issues now majorly...my OC has hit instability 30 minutes into prime95 on core 0...temps hit about 60C then it fails. I have 2 yate meds sitting on it now...would better fans help? or is it my rad heh.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 11:40 AM   #17
HiProfile
Member

 
HiProfile's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Random Dumpster/Alley

 
We've already determined that with said parts, you shouldn't be failing at those temps, or have lower temps. It more than likely is your mounting of the WB that is causing issues. If that's the case, then adding fans/rads/pumps will help very little. Thats like putting a V8 on a lawnmower w/1" wide tires - you can't put that power to use.
HiProfile is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 11:42 AM Thread Starter   #18
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
So far I'm on my 5th remount, temps haven't changed, wtf

MAYBE...just MAYBE...excess tubing? I don't have it setup in my case yet...so I got about 8ft of tubing just running all over.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 11:55 AM   #19
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
i think that would be it then, thats alot of tubing...

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 12:05 PM Thread Starter   #20
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
i think that would be it then, thats alot of tubing...
Hmm...f word...you gotta see my ghettoness. You all will be ashamed of me.

http://www.distantnexus.net/images/misc/DSC00004.JPG

http://www.distantnexus.net/images/misc/DSC00009.JPG

Plus more under that crate...I didn't know tubing affects it that much.

I got 20ft of 7/16ID 5/8OD coming, as well as 10x 120mm Yate High's coming...ordered from Jab-Tech Yesterday. I bought all the fans for push/pull on 2x 2x120mm radiators and such...better tubing than local hardware bought stuff.

What causes temps to go so high with lots of tubing? Flow rate dropping so much?

__________________
My Heatware

Last edited by ziggo0; 07-18-08 at 12:10 PM.
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?