Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Move from DDR2 too DDR3

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-08, 08:55 PM Thread Starter   #1
clinker42
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia

 
Move from DDR2 too DDR3


Hi Guys

I have an Asus Rampage motherboard with a Q6600 clocked at 3006 MHZ, Dual Powercolor 4870's.

Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5D 2GB (2x XMS2 1GB) PC-8500 (1066MHz)

When I look at CPUZ it shows at the 5,5,5,15 setting it is 400mhz. Should i be seeing 1066 mhz in the memory part off CPUZ.

I had a look at some off the memory posts you guys have made and some off you are getting over 1000mhz from your memory.

Do you suggest I get some new DDR3 memory, something like OCZ PC3-1600 or GSKILL PC3 12800.

Only problem is the motherboard manual say it supports DDR2.

Thanks Trevor

Last edited by clinker42; 07-20-08 at 09:11 PM.
clinker42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-08, 12:41 AM   #2
grimm003
Member

 
grimm003's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SIU

 
Well, to start, if you want to go with DDR3, you will need a new motherboard. You have a good motherboard so I wouldn't go buying a new one just for DDR3.

DDR2 is double clocked, meaning if your FSB is running at 400MHz, your memory is running at 800MHz. So yours is running at 800MHz. Just because the ram is rated for 1066MHz, doesn't mean it will always run that speed.

You have four options if you stick with the ram you have. You can a) increase your FSB, your ram will take it but idk if your processors will. B) change the divider between the FSB and ram. It should be at 1:1 (that's before doubling the ram speed), and you can increase the ram speed without affecting the CPU. There is a hit in performance if not 1:1, but I don't know to what extent on your setup. C) Try lowering the ram timings. If the ram is rated at 5,5,5,15@1066, then it will probably run with lower timings at a lower speed, ie 4,4,4,12@800. D) Just be happy

I would personally try a mix between A and C, follow that up with some D. Good luck

__________________
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe
CPU E8400
RAM Mushkin DDR2-1000 2x2GB
Video Sapphire HD4870 512MB
Case Lian-Li A-7010
Res MCR320-QP
CPU Block GTZ
Video Block MCW60-R2
Pump MCP355

There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
grimm003 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-08, 06:20 PM   #3
chop_wood
Member

 
chop_wood's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
can we get a screen of your cpuz? i would think your memory tab would say 667 since your overlcocked to 3ghz. id make sure your ram ratio in the bios isnt on auto, and play with that. the spd table is just jdec standards for those frequencies, not what your actually running at. stick w/ the ddr2

__________________
I7 4770k @4.5| Asrock Z87 Extreme6 | Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x4gb @1866 |
120GB Samsung 840 EVO| 4TB Seagate Int+Bkp | 760AX Corsair Platinum
EK Supreme HF Nickel | XSPC Acetal D5 Dual BayRes | Laing D5 | MCR-480qp
Lian Li PC2000v | V-moda Crossfade LP | LG 39LB5800 39" TV | Windows 8.1 | BFL Single @ 60GH/S

HEATWARE
chop_wood is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?