Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Using a second power supply WITHOUT connecting to mobo

Thread Closed
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-08, 03:06 PM Thread Starter   #1
jokers_greg
Member

 
jokers_greg's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

 
Using a second power supply WITHOUT connecting to mobo


I need to do a test run of my WC loop, without using the power supply in my computer. I have a 400W kicking around, and I thought to myself, why not use that? I don't know how to get it running without connecting it to the motherboard. The stickies have links that are about connecting two power supplies to one motherboard.

__________________
Primary
3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
,
HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

My OLD WC Project Log
My Heat
jokers_greg is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 07-23-08, 03:11 PM   #2
WonderingSoul
Team 32 Folding Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crack the Skye

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokers_greg View Post
I need to do a test run of my WC loop, without using the power supply in my computer. I have a 400W kicking around, and I thought to myself, why not use that? I don't know how to get it running without connecting it to the motherboard. The stickies have links that are about connecting two power supplies to one motherboard.
Easy peasy! Jumper together the Green and Black on the 20/4 Pin connection. This can easily be done with a paper clip or any other kind of conductive wire.

__________________
Project Quick Bench
i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
Heatware
WonderingSoul is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile  
Old 07-23-08, 03:26 PM   #3
Hitbox
Member

 
Hitbox's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
This can easily be done with a paper clip or any other kind of conductive wire.
Wont that kill him dead?

__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

Add Newegg search to your Firefox!
Hitbox is offline  
Old 07-23-08, 03:27 PM   #4
WonderingSoul
Team 32 Folding Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crack the Skye

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
Wont that kill him dead?
If you do it with the power on....

__________________
Project Quick Bench
i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
Heatware
WonderingSoul is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile  
Old 07-23-08, 03:29 PM   #5
Hitbox
Member

 
Hitbox's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL

 
Well the point is to try and get the power on. PSU's don't just turn on when you plug them in, obviously.

OP (and now I) want to know how to turn on the PSU without hooking it up to a motherboard, correct?

__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

Add Newegg search to your Firefox!
Hitbox is offline  
Old 07-23-08, 03:35 PM   #6
WonderingSoul
Team 32 Folding Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crack the Skye

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
Well the point is to try and get the power on. PSU's don't just turn on when you plug them in, obviously.

OP (and now I) want to know how to turn on the PSU without hooking it up to a motherboard, correct?
You jumper the PSU then use the back power switch to on/off the power... Following me?

__________________
Project Quick Bench
i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
Heatware
WonderingSoul is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile  
Old 07-23-08, 03:41 PM   #7
Hitbox
Member

 
Hitbox's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL

 
I get that, but you did say while it was on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
If you do it with the power on....
And to turn a computer on/off, the two mobo pins make a contact, but they don't stay contacted or else it does nothing (ie, holding the power button for 10 minutes).

Does that same concept not apply to the PSU?

__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

Add Newegg search to your Firefox!
Hitbox is offline  
Old 07-23-08, 04:00 PM   #8
WonderingSoul
Team 32 Folding Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crack the Skye

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
I get that, but you did say while it was on...



And to turn a computer on/off, the two mobo pins make a contact, but they don't stay contacted or else it does nothing (ie, holding the power button for 10 minutes).

Does that same concept not apply to the PSU?
I did not say do it while the power was on.

It's not like that. A computer power switch is a "jumper" to engage the power on and stay on.

I don't see why this is so hard to understand here... Jumper the unit together via Green to Black, and control the unit on and off with the back power switch.

__________________
Project Quick Bench
i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
Heatware
WonderingSoul is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile  
Old 07-23-08, 07:43 PM   #9
Hitbox
Member

 
Hitbox's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL

 
What if it doesn't have a rear switch?

__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

Add Newegg search to your Firefox!
Hitbox is offline  
Old 07-23-08, 10:00 PM   #10
iamcanadian7
Member

 
iamcanadian7's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Then you most likely have an older P/S, using the plug from the wall will act the same as a switch. Plug it in for "on" and unplug it for "off".
iamcanadian7 is offline  
Old 07-23-08, 10:11 PM   #11
Roofles
Member

 
Roofles's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brew City

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
Wont that kill him dead?
No it won't. The explanation you want is this: The Green Wire is a signal wire, not a power supply wire. The switch on the case is called a momentary switch, all it does is connect this wire to ground. This tells the PSU to turn ON. So all he is doing is replacing the switch on the case with a paperclip. Shorting the +12V rail would be a bad idea, as it will probably fry a paperclip, but it won't kill you.

__________________
Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

"If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics
Roofles is offline  
Old 07-24-08, 02:31 AM   #12
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
I did not say do it while the power was on.

It's not like that. A computer power switch is a "jumper" to engage the power on and stay on.

I don't see why this is so hard to understand here... Jumper the unit together via Green to Black, and control the unit on and off with the back power switch.
I don't mean to be offensive, but your explanation isn't that clear previously. Perhaps that's my because I'm young.

Let me rephrase and you tell me if I'm wrong.

When the green and black pins are connected, it will stay on. Therefore, insert the jumper and use the back switch to turn it off/on.

I basically rephrased "You jumper the PSU then use the back power switch to on/off the power... Following me?" but I added the jumper part.

Blazing fire is offline  
Old 07-24-08, 04:04 AM   #13
chop_wood
Member

 
chop_wood's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
heheh.. i love to use the paperclip (even if i have a psu tester handy), and then pretend im getting electricuted infront of an unsuspecting client.

__________________
I7 4770k @4.5| Asrock Z87 Extreme6 | Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x4gb @1866 |
120GB Samsung 840 EVO| 4TB Seagate Int+Bkp | 760AX Corsair Platinum
EK Supreme HF Nickel | XSPC Acetal D5 Dual BayRes | Laing D5 | MCR-480qp
Lian Li PC2000v | V-moda Crossfade LP | LG 39LB5800 39" TV | Windows 8.1 | BFL Single @ 60GH/S

HEATWARE
chop_wood is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 07-24-08, 08:06 AM Thread Starter   #14
jokers_greg
Member

 
jokers_greg's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

 
why is everyone so confused. From what I've read, (in one wonderingsoul post)+common sense, is that you need to follow these steps:

1)make sure the PSU you're trying to use is unplugged
2)connect the black and green pins on the atx connector with a wire
3)turn on the PSU or plug in the power cord (if you have no switch)

what is everyone asking about? lol

__________________
Primary
3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
,
HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

My OLD WC Project Log
My Heat
jokers_greg is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 07-25-08, 03:10 AM   #15
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
That is way clearer than any of the above post...

Blazing fire is offline  
Old 07-25-08, 09:16 AM   #16
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
AFAIK, and from experience, you won't electrocute yourself by holding a paperclip to the green/black to turn it on. I've done this several times, with several power supplies, with my bare hand and a paperclip, and never been electrocuted. The green wire does not supply power, and the black wire is just a ground. If you're afraid of being electrocuted still, then just hold the paperclip with a clothespin or something. All you need is a momentary contact (while the power supply is plugged in and switched on) to start it. Stick the paperclip back in for 5 seconds or so and it will turn off. Just make very sure to only hit green and black or you're likely to fry something.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 07-25-08, 09:22 AM   #17
Hitbox
Member

 
Hitbox's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
All you need is a momentary contact (while the power supply is plugged in and switched on) to start it. Stick the paperclip back in for 5 seconds or so and it will turn off.
THATS what I was looking for! So keeping the paper clip in it will be like holding the power button down! OKAY! So it's no different then touching a screw driver to the motherboard connectors! Thanks Petty, that clears it up for me.

__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

Add Newegg search to your Firefox!
Hitbox is offline  
Old 07-25-08, 09:42 AM   #18
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
You have to leave the "short" in to keep the PSU on, it isn't a momentary switch...

If you short green to ground, the PSU will turn on. If you remove that short, it will turn off. This is NOT like the motherboard power switch.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 07-26-08, 04:04 AM   #19
aznkc730
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: los angeles, ca

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
You have to leave the "short" in to keep the PSU on, it isn't a momentary switch...

If you short green to ground, the PSU will turn on. If you remove that short, it will turn off. This is NOT like the motherboard power switch.
that's exactly right. and here's a picture of how to jumper the connectors:

http://www.hardocp.com/image.html?im...lfMl81X2wuanBn

and believe me, there is no way to electrocute yourself while doing this. The PSU can be plugged in, the back power switch can be on, it doesn't matter. the connectors are sensors and do not carry any electric load.

__________________
Opteron 170 2.8ghz 1.49v (280x10) ---------> Xeon x3220 (G0) 3.83ghz 1.55v (425x9)
OCZ 520W SLI Powerstream ------------------> Corsair TX 750W
DFI NF4 UT SLI-DR with FX60 Test Bios ------> Asus P5K-Deluxe/WiFi-AP
Geil PLatinum Series PC4000 512x2 MB -----> G.skill DDR2-1066 2GBx4 (8 gigs baby)
2.5-4-3-7 with 9/10 divider --------------------> 5-5-5-15 with 8:10 divider
eVGA 7800 GT (490 gpu/1250 mem) ---------> Sapphire 4870x2 (777/980)
4x80 GB Hitachi Deathstar SATA Raid --------> 2x750GB Hitachi Deskstar Raid 0
Koolance Exos Water Cooling System -------> Koolance Exos2 Water Cooling System
aznkc730 is offline  
Old 07-26-08, 11:06 AM   #20
zer0nix
Member

 
zer0nix's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
forgive me if this is off topic but how the hell do you 'fry' a paper clip? what happens? does it melt or break in two -or does something far more mysterious happen?
zer0nix is offline  

Thread Closed


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?