• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

please help me overclock intel pentium d 2.8ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mastercheif2253

Registered
ok, i have a intel pentium d 2.8ghz processor in a asus p5n-d mobo with bfg nvidia geforce 8600 gts factory o.c. with two 1 gig hynix ram modules in duel channel mode. could somebody please help me get my computer in top shape, im new to overclocking and the last time i tried to overclock my pentium d, it started to overheat even with the side of my case off and a fan blowing into it. please help!!!

First we need to take care of your cooling issue. I would reccomend the Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme or the Tuniq Tower 120.

after that It is pretty straight forward by just raising your Front Side Bus (fsb) and make sure it is stable, by testing with Orthos. If it isn't stable raise your vcore just slightly and test again.

This is guided more towards the core2duo's and core2quads, but it gets the point across.

well, the reason it started overheating, is because i was using the AI overclocker in bios and had it set to 20%, i think it was a little to much. im just trying to get as much power out of this cheap processor until i can afford a core 2 duo.

Auto overclock uses alot more voltage then is usually needed, still the Pentium Ds are 2 prescott cores stuck together and will run quite hot no matter what. Are you only using stock cooling?

I'd say you might be able to get 3.2ghz or so without becoming too hot but who knows, first step should be to download a program that you can monitor your load temps during load, CoreTemp or RealTemp should do.