Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Laser printer problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-08, 10:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
JetEngineMech
Member

 
JetEngineMech's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Connecticut

 
Laser printer problem


I just replaced the toner on my Brother MFC-4800 but the printouts are really faded with blank lines running through it vertically. I tried the website but it didn't help much. Any idea what is causing this?

__________________
A7V8X-X v1.01, XP2800+, 9600XT 256Mb
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't "it", and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me.
Folding for Team 32
JetEngineMech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-08, 10:58 AM   #2
hi-yield
Member

 
hi-yield's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lockhart TX

 
Could actually be a bad toner cartridge.
Also make sure the cartridge bay does't have excess toner powder accumulated.
Do not blow it out, vacum only.

__________________
Only Rig:
BIOSTAR A770 A2+
AMD 5600+ Windsor @ 3.05 - Hammer Down!
4 GB KINGSTON Hyper X PC2-6400
WD Velociraptor 150, WD 640 BLK.
SEASONIC SD12 Super Silent Series 850W
ANTEC 300 Case
BFG 9600GT OC 512
At least I have a rig! :>)
hi-yield is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-08, 11:51 AM   #3
Blackstar
Member

 
Blackstar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetEngineMech View Post
I just replaced the toner on my Brother MFC-4800 but the printouts are really faded with blank lines running through it vertically. I tried the website but it didn't help much. Any idea what is causing this?

Check the cartridge also for a little plastic slider on the top that runs along a wire. If it's there, slide that back and forth a few times to clean off anything that might be on the wire.

Pull out the cartridge and place it on a level table on a cloth. (to not scratch the table) Give it a few good shakes to even out the toner so it's flat and even inside. Then keeping it level, put it back in the printer.

The other thing to do if you are a little ambitious is take out the drum and clean that with a dust/lint free cloth. Don't get any finger prints on it. Your drum may have dust, particles, etc that may give you a bad print. I have a Brother MFC-8500 and both of these worked wonders for the print quality.


If none of these help, there may be something else wrong with it.

- Blackstar

__________________
-= No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always gotten there first, and is waiting for it. =-

:: You are not your system specs.
:: You are not your uptime stats, your script file, or your oversized desktop screencap.
:: You are not your broadband connection.
:: You are not your sexy avatar.
:: You are not your post count.

"This is UNSC AI Serial Number CTN0452-9. I am a monument to all your sins."
Blackstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-08, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #4
JetEngineMech
Member

 
JetEngineMech's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Connecticut

 
Well I vacuumed it out, shook it like a baby, cleaned the slider, and cleaned off the drum. It helped, it's printing darker but still inconsistent with a few blank lines.

__________________
A7V8X-X v1.01, XP2800+, 9600XT 256Mb
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't "it", and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me.
Folding for Team 32
JetEngineMech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-08, 10:44 PM   #5
Johnb554
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008

 
Sounds like maybe the drum needs replacing. As far as i know, the drum is seperate from the toner in brother printers so each time you replace the toner, you dont get a new drum as well. If other troubleshooting doesnt work, I would put a new drum in it, and see what it does, if it doesnt work, you can always take it back and get your money.
Johnb554 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?