• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to Windows: how do i connect to the internets?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Brinks

I just finished my very first PC build. Everything booted fine and XP installed without a hitch. First step was to install drivers, but before that get connected to the internet.
That's where I ran into my problem. I have a Terayon TJ715 modem connected to an Apple Airport Extreme router, which is broadcasting wirelessly to 3 Macs just fine. The router is connected to the PC via Ethernet. The Ethernet port on the PC displays a green LED on the left but a flashing amber light on the right.
I'm running XP Pro SP2 (can't update to SP3 w/o internet) and I must say, I'm a complete newb when it comes to Windows (this will be my first Microsoft OS). How do I go about connecting to the internet?
As of right now, the router is up to date, but I don't know about the modem, and the XP install is fresh without any updates/drivers.
Oh and I installed the Airport Utility for windows but it wouldn't recognize the Airport Base Station.
My ISP is Charter Communications
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Have you installed drivers for your motherboard? If the drivers for the ethernet port aren't installed you wouldn't be able to get online but the lights could still be flashing. With XP on a wired connection, all you have to do is plug the cable in and if you're connected to a router, you're set.

Thanks for the advice. Installed the latest mobo drivers (gigabyte ga-ep35-ds3l) off the gigabyte website. I rebooted the modem and router but still no connection. Airport Utility still doesn't display the base station. No internet.

Airport utility is useless if you don't have a wireless card. You're using a wire and the ethernet driver is most likely not installed.