Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Debating between 8kha+ and Ak3.1

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-02, 10:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
Debating between 8kha+ and Ak3.1


right now i have all of the parts for a new system i am building except for the mobo. Here are the basic specs:
UNLOCKED 1900+ w/ thermaltake sk6 w/ delta 50cfm fan
Lianli PC68 (comes w/ 3 80mm panaflow fans)
Gainward GF3Ti500
2 Sticks of 256mb Corsair 2400
400wat antec psu
cdrw/dvdrom/floppy/zipdrive
sbaudigy
Western Digital 100gig drive w/ 8mb cache

now, this is my first time ever overclockin the cpu so i made sure that i picked out optimal parts and such so i can have success. I can not decide between either mobo. I have heard that the 8kha has instability problems when overclocked and the shuttle has a ****ty northbridge fan (is there anyway to fix that btw?).

I was going to get the shuttle till i read that post about the northbridge fans breaking and i do NOT wanna haveto send back my mobo to newegg(where i am getting all my parts). However, i do like how everything is jumperless in the shuttle.

can somebody pls help me decide between these two boards? thanks!
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-09-02, 10:48 PM   #2
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
mobo's


Very happy with my AK31 r3.1

Northbridge fan has given me no problems, but if it did cut out, it would probably be very simple to replace with say a GPU HSF.

Southbridge has given me problems... no USB! But that is a flaw in the VIA KT266 and KT266a chipsets. Most ppl have no such problem. I just got a cheap USB PCI card and now all is well.

Some other things about the Shuttle board...
can only use 3 of the 4 DIMMS unless you use registered DDR memory,

max FSB setting in Bios is 166 (but you could go higher with progs like CPUcool),

max vcore without voltage mod is 1.85v.

Still this board has been very stable for me at FSB around 150-152

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-02, 06:44 AM Thread Starter   #3
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
Usb?


what do you mean there are no usb on it? it says http://www.socketa.com/reviews/shuttle/ak31rev3/ that there are two usb ports built in (that will be good for my keyboard and mouse) and there are 6 optional (i have a lianli pc68 so there are 4 front usbports so i can use those there.) who would need over eight usb ports? i cant think of anyone who would need over 5 (keyboard,mouse, gamepad, digital camera, mp3player)
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-02, 08:44 AM   #4
DaveB
Senior Member

 
DaveB's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Gainesville, VA

10 Year Badge
 
The USB ports are there. What Arkaime23 is telling you is that he can't get them to work. The KT266 has a flaw which causes USB failure at over 138 MHz FSB. All KT266 mobo have this problem. This was corrected by the KT266A chipset, but Arkaime23 still has a problem.

I've been running an AK31 Rev 2 at 150 MHz to 154 MHz since July with no problems at all. But all my USB stuff is still connected to my other rig, a Soyo BX/PIII system.
DaveB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-02, 12:08 PM Thread Starter   #5
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
Cool thanks


ok thanks for the input. i will get the shuttle ak3.1 and hopefully i can get a pretty decent overclock! i am tryin for 200mhz plus. Hopefully i can reach it. I will get a gpu fan if anything ever happens to northbridge.
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 01:43 AM   #6
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Get the 8kha+, way better than the shuttle. 200fsb and people are getting it with the new bios' with the pci/agp divisors. I can run 180 FSB!

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 06:27 AM Thread Starter   #7
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
why?


what is so much better about the 8kha+? It has a dipswitch to reset cmos while shuttle is completly switchless(so i heard). Since i am not going to use a voltage mod, i highly doubt i will get 180mhz FSB... unless you dont use a volt mod and have it hehe. there is no way i am going to soder my mobo.
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 06:52 AM   #8
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
my usb problem details


I have the r3.1, but for some reason the usb root controller would not install no matter what I did. Drivers, format/reinstall OS, Via USB patches, Windows updates/service packs, etc... finally gave in to what most ppl in the via forums suggested as the only fix- PCI USB controller card.

While not overly common or particularly debilitating, this chipset problem has been around awhile... and Via has nothing to say on the matter.. not even any tech support!

Just to be clear on the matter, I love my AK31!!! It rocks. This is the 1st computer I built myself, and the first one I ever overclocked. All my friends and roommates are turning green with envy.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 10:34 AM   #9
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Re: why?


Quote:
Originally posted by Emericana
what is so much better about the 8kha+? It has a dipswitch to reset cmos while shuttle is completly switchless(so i heard). Since i am not going to use a voltage mod, i highly doubt i will get 180mhz FSB... unless you dont use a volt mod and have it hehe. there is no way i am going to soder my mobo.
I have had both boards, I think the epox is better, faster and OC's better. The Shuttle is not completely jumperless, there is a jumper to clear cmos on almost every board. I think the epox has 2 jumpers including the cmos, just like the shuttle. The epox also has a troubleshooting readout on the board which is very nice when you run into problems. And I have not done a voltage mod.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 11:17 AM Thread Starter   #10
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
Question what bios does the board come w/ ?


wow, that is a pretty good oc then. I have one question. if i get the 8kha+, will it come with the bios that is good for overclocking or will i have to download it from somewhere. if i need to download it, where do i get it. Also, how do i install it? i have flashed a bios on a asus board but am not sure how to do it on a epox (i got windows 2000 sp2)
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 08:00 PM   #11
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
You will have to download it from somewhere. I don't think it will come with the newest bios. I got it from the Japanese Epox site, it is not hard to find. Flashing this board is very simple, boot up from the floppy and type "update", that's it. Keep in mind that I am running an unlocked 1900 and the 180 FSB was at a 10x multi.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-02, 10:14 PM Thread Starter   #12
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 
aoafiles?


I actually ordered the 8kha+ cause i didnt wanna risk the northbridge fan getting broken off. Is the file for the new bios on aoafiles.com? there is a beta epox bios on that site. is that it? what is the url for the jap epox site?
I am also gonna be running a unlocked 1900+
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-02, 09:46 AM   #13
Maximus Nickus
Senior Shaman

 
Maximus Nickus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milton Keynes, U.K.

 
YOU won't be dissapointed, LOOK at the scores you will get its amazing.

Plus the LED troubleshooter is great, it also overclocks like crazy and is sooooooooooooo stable.

Download the BETA bios that gives you an optional 3/4Ram divider great for overclocking if your memory is holding you back.

__________________
Lead Senior - Cooling
Abit AT7 Max2 | 2100+ @ 3200+
Dual Loop WaterCooling | 0.1 C/W CPU Block
In order to succeed, you must try. | Avatar by Plague.

Be calm, relax and the answer will come to you

Folding at Home
My Heatware
Maximus Nickus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?