Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Options for school?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Old 08-25-08, 10:06 AM Thread Starter   #1
wa77ss

Options for school?

So I don't think college is working out for me. I get far to fed up with all the same crap they pull in high school. I don't want to learn all these same subjects that I just spent four years on, Algebra, Calculus, English, History. It gets so old writing all these useless papers and making "projects" I just can't spend anymore time on this stuff. I'm not saying I'm above it, or that college is stupid.....but I seriously just cannot do that anymore.

I worked full time in IT for 8 months and did pretty well, and am willing to learn as long as its pertaining to my CAREER. I want to just learn a skill and stick with it, and not sure what options there could be as far as schooling goes.

Is there anyway you can get college degrees in things that aren't so widely scoped. Can you just take only engineering courses, or only computer science courses? Why do they have to bundle all these meaningless courses with it? What could be some other options for schooling?

Heatware
wa77ss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-08, 10:11 AM   #2
radium

A lot of technical colleges won't have mandatory electives, you can give them a shot. Honestly, electives are there for a reason though. They create a well rounded individual, it doesn't matter how smart you are, if you can't communicate for ****, no one will ever remember you.

P182 case
150 Raptor OS/Games
250 Seagate storage
Asus P5Q pro

Waiting on the vid cooler to come in before OC's ^_^
radium is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-08, 10:25 AM   #3
Mr. Roboto