• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Studying Design & Production: Macbook vs. All?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Essenar

I'm studying probably, lol... Five different majors in one.

My declared major is Graphic Design but it's going to be film production and dramatic script writing.

Should I get a Macbook?

For those of you that have a laptop, how much do you actually use it?

I'm worried I'll get it, spend $1500 on it and then it'll just sit there.

Are you going to be typing on it? Checking e-mail? Music? Videos? I doubt it would just sit there. I like my Macbook, and would certainly recommend to almost anyone. The keyboard is especially nice. What are you major uses?

Aside from the following: Internet browsing, music, photos, videos, chatting.

I'm studying web design so I do use Dreamweaver CS3 and I like to make my own layout media with Photoshop CS3.

I eventually want to do production from my computer. I want to cut clips, edit, add effects, filter and clean up. I'll eventually get a camera. And by camera I don't mean a camcorder but rather an actual production camera.

I play games, but I have my desktop for that and I'd be keeping the laptop strictly around me for my work and for taking with me to class.

I do type papers and as a writer I write scripts and storylines.

Aside from the following: Internet browsing, music, photos, videos, chatting.

I'm studying web design so I do use Dreamweaver CS3 and I like to make my own layout media with Photoshop CS3.

I eventually want to do production from my computer. I want to cut clips, edit, add effects, filter and clean up. I'll eventually get a camera. And by camera I don't mean a camcorder but rather an actual production camera.