• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

network help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dark bishop

im trying to set up a net work between two Linux computers and a xp computer, Ive got a linksys work group switch that im hoping i can share my internet connection through.

that's really all im trying to set up is a big internet sharing network so the other two boxes can get on.

my main computer has a linksys usb wireless antenna that i use to connect, im trying to share this with the other two through the work group switch if that makes any sense.

Im pretty much a noob at networking, but I do know that unless you have more than one IP, you will need a router....or some other way to assign IP's to the other computers...
Internet connection sharing I think will do it....but I'm a Linux noob also....so I don't know how to configure those boxes to connect thru the Windows box...

Sorry I could not help...but bump for someone who can..

Ok, since you are running Xubuntu, like you said in the folding section, give me a minute.

Are the two linux machine's hooked up via wireless or hard wire? Also can you give me the model # on your switch?

Thanks

I think these will be helpful:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Internet/ConnectionSharingDHCP3
(basic setup of whole router system)
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/dhcp3-server
(specifics about dhcp3 setup)
http://ubuntulinuxhowto.blogspot.com/2006/06/setup-your-computer-to-be-router.html
(another guide, from the web, I'd follow the ones from ubuntu first though)

Last edited:
the two linux machines are gonna use hardwire. linksys workgroup switch model # EG008W

thats not going to help, i dont have multiple network cards and im not trying to get the computer as the router.

Last edited:
the two linux machines are gonna use hardwire. model # EG008W