Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Anything I should change on this build? (Yes another build help ??)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-08, 09:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
Anything I should change on this build? (Yes another build help ??)


Ok, so this is what I have. Ive done ALOT of research on here and look at tons of info offsite about performance.

I plan to do some mild overclocking, nothing real serious.

Im not on a tight budget, but I want to keep it relatively low. This is what Ive come up with. Anything I should change for about the same price/performance? And before anyone suggests, Ive made up my mind on a C2D instead of a Quad, so please dont suggest that

Price: $1350 w/ shipping via newegg (only $19 in shipping! I did good I think!)

ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core
XIGMATEK HDT-SD964 92mm Rifle CPU Cooler
OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
VisionTek 900244 Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
Rosewill R5604-BK 0.8mm Japanese Cold Rolled Steel Dual 120mm
Antec True Power Trio TP3-550 550W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire
SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S223F - OEM
SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive
Logitech G5 2-Tone 7 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Laser Mouse
Logitech 967738-0403 Black USB Standard Deluxe 250 Keyboard
Logitech Z-4 40 watts 2.1 Speaker
Acer AL1916WAbd Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor
Microsoft Windows XP Professional 64Bit SP2C for System Builders - OEM

Thanks
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-08, 10:11 PM   #2
reddevil6
Member



Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: australia

 
i would up the PSU to a antec TP3 650W that way u will have enough power for 2 of them video cards.

__________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 - AMD x6 1055T @3.5GHz@1.275v - Seagate SATA3 1T & SATA2 500G - Asus ATI 5770 - Kingston hyperx 1600 8G (2x4G)@1333MHz 8-8-8-22-30 - Thermaltake Soprano RS100 full tower - Antec truepower tp-750W
reddevil6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-08, 10:37 PM Thread Starter   #3
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
Yeha, thats what I was thinking, but I dont think im going to double them up for awhile. I thought about 2 slower cards, but decided against it due to minimal performance gain. Plus this allows me to really upgrade later.

Also, Im going to go with Vista X64 after doing alot of reading.

Thanks for the reply!
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-08, 07:28 AM   #4
iamcanadian7
Member

 
iamcanadian7's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Unless your planning on a bigger monitor, there's absolutely no need to add a second 4870. Heck you could probably save $100 and go with a 4850 using a 19 inch screen. Other than that though the build looks good.
iamcanadian7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-08, 12:25 PM Thread Starter   #5
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
Notes taken

They ran out of the Antec so I picked up a 650watt PSU. Also went with Vista x64. Ordered and paid for, should be here Monday hopefully
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-08, 07:38 PM   #6
altech6983
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008

 
I know this is personal preference but I would suggest that you go with a different mouse if you like to change DPI settings. I like the Razer Deathadder or the Razer Diamondback.

I say this is because I own a G5 right now and while it my be just my luck, I have had lots of trouble with DPI settings, the driver software, and Vista. I will go in and set the presets and then when I go about some gaming the mouse will randomly drop me back to default settings for DPI(super slow, slow, crazy fast) and then back again.

The reason for the Razer is that they store there profiles in the mouse it self and should not be interfered with by the OS, a plus feature should you take it anywhere with you, the profiles will be with you.

I agree with iamcanadian7 for a 19". Also, you are going to love the Z4s, I have a set right now and the have really good sound and bass.

Good luck on the rig, let us know how it goes.

Last edited by altech6983; 09-05-08 at 07:44 PM.
altech6983 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?