• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Unable to overclock Q9400

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Swishaa

Hey, I've seen a few threads here about Q9400's, so maybe you guys can figure this out...
I'd like to first say that although I've done my research, this is my first attempt at OC'ing. Anyways, basically my problem is that I can't overclock at all. I've been following this guide at the EVGA forums for my mobo, but without any luck. I tested both sticks of memory with 2 passes of memtest86. I flashed the BIOS to the newest (P06). I initialized all the BIOS values that are stated in the guide. I set my RAM to the settings listed on the instructions that came with it (1.7V 7-7-7-20). I then ran Super PI 32M and it passed fine. OCCT ran on Mix for over 2 hours just fine as well.

Now for what I've tried:
First, I tried bumping the FSB speed from 1333 to 1400, as listed in the guide. This caused the comp to crash before getting to Windows (Vista 64), so I upped the CPU Core voltage in 0.01250 increments. I started at 1.2, and went all the way up to 1.4...same results every time. It did not seem to become any more stable with more voltage. Next, I tried changing some of the other voltages (they were all on Auto before). I tried the FSP up to 1.35, the SPP at 1.35, and the MCP at 1.6. I tried these all seperate & together, still the same results.
After all of that, I tried just changing the FSB to 1375...then 1350...nothing works. However, as soon as i set it back to 1333, everything is fine. I can still run Super Pi with no errors.

I'm out of ideas now, I've tried the smallest of OC's and all sorts of voltage combinations...there must be something I'm missing (or my hardware sucks). For reference, I've listed some of my BIOS settings that I started with, and my parts are in my signature.