• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with Fan shroud design / system setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quantum Effect

Hi everyone

I am new to water cooling, but not to building my own computers. I have not yet built my system, as i am waiting for i7 / Nehalm

I have however bought my case (TJ07), and radiator (HW GTX 480), with pump Ehiem HPPS 12v, along with a 5.25 Fass-O-Matic drive bay reservoir.

Now my questions are:

• I have 1/2 barbs throughout, but the outlet to the HPPS pump is smaller (at 8mm) than 1/2, so i am thinking i should change to a Laing D5??
I have come to the descision it would be best to mount the rad outside, in a box of some sort - as i have x8 Panaflow 38mm deep 134 cfm fans, which i plan to run in a push pull config, with shrouds making it too big even for the mighty TJ07!!!! (This would also also leave me space inside the case for a second loop if required in the future) This rad box would then sit underneath my TJ07.

• Any ideas as to what i should use for a rad box for a quad rad with 8 fans on shrouds? I was thinking of constructing a box out of MDF, as i want to deaden the sound of those huge fans!!

• Will one Laing D5 be enough to run the system?

I plan to run it: Pump (sitting at base of TJ07 case) > Radiator (external rad box) > CPU > GPU (x1) > RAM > Reservoir > Pump

Any help / suggestions will be greatly appreciated quys and gals :attn:

Kind Regards

Phil

Seems I'm the only one replying that one D5 pump is enough for that.
I was hoping other people could help you with your rad box thoughts I know enough that at the least 4 of the fans should push the air through the rad and the other 4 in a 2x2 fashion on the box pull out the air seems logical to me.