• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why does Gnome feel imprecise when photoediting?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

>HyperlogiK<

I have been using Ubuntu as a secondary OS for about 2 years now and I love a lot of things about it. However I do a lot of bitmap image editing and I absolutely have to use Photoshop to do it.

I never really thought about why before, without thinking about it I had just labeled GIMP as a piece of crap. However I was playing around with GIMP on a windows machine recently and something struck me. It wasn't crap, in fact it was very usable. I think the original interface is messy but this is probably the result of having grown up with another product, and GIMPshop could help fix that. So I tried it under Ubuntu again and much to my surprise, no dice. It doesn't seem to be GIMP that is the problem, but Gnome.

I have never really noticed it in normal use, but when using a mouse or graphics tablet for image editing, Gnome seems too laggy and imprecise. I tried tweaking the mouse settings, swapping my Razer Deathadder for a friend's Logitech G9, tweaking my Wacom tablet, but even on the maximum sensitivity settings the laggy and imprecise feeling remained. In case it was some quirk of my old Yonah laptop I installed Ubuntu on my brand new Wolfdale build and everything was exactly the same.

Now I know that there are at least a few gfx people who use Linux, so I'm hoping one of you might shed some light on my situation. Should I switch to KDE or XFCE? Is this just a mad quirk of all Linux GUIs? Or will I have to run a machine with Windows and Photoshop for ever more?

actually its neither linux nor gnome. I suspect its Ubuntu