Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Expanding my liquid cooling.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-08, 10:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
Daemonex
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle

 
Unhappy Expanding my liquid cooling.


Alright, so when I first started up with water cooling I got a thermaltake case with embedded watercooling (Yes, yes. I know. "Boo prefabbed WC units." ). Even if it is "boo" it keeps my processor at around 34C, so I'm not unhappy with it. However, I am going to purchase a couple of 260's or 280's and I want them water cooled. I'm worried that adding those to the system will cause heating problems.

I always see screen shots of people running their cooling from their pump to their CPU, to the first gpu, then the second, then sometimes the third, and I wonder if that actually keeps them cool enough when they are in sequential order like that.

So, this is my question. Should I:

A) Create a totally separate cooling loop just for the cpus

or

B) Add on to the existing loop?

If A), thats easy and I will get custom parts this time.

If B), should I add a second radiator? Where should I place it in the loop? Should I add another pump, or will just the one be enough?

I know a lot of you guys have been doing this for a long time, so I hope you can help me. I don't need to go balls to the wall with my cooling, just enough to keep it cool. Also, I really, really, like my cooling systems to be completely internal. I know that this can affect the temperatures of of the cooling, but I'm really adverse to having a radiator hanging off the back of my rig.

Thanks for the help.
Daemonex is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-08, 10:54 PM   #2
jr1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: norway

 
if it was me i would made a second loop
but then again i'm not the one with the most experience in here

__________________
Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
Psu : ocz fatality 700w
Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
Pump : mcp655
Rad : Sr1 480
Res : swiftech microres v1
Fittings : various kompression and barbs
tubing : primoflex pro white
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622
jr1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-08, 11:14 PM   #3
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
im gonna vote for the second loop also.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-08, 11:29 PM   #4
Rjcouture1
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Worcester,Ma

 
Which thermaltake LCS case?
If it's the Kandalf you might be able to get a 120.2 radiator on the bottom although it will block a slot or stand it on edge either way you'll have to cut your case to allow the air to flow or temps will be worse,I'm not 100% sure but where the 120 fan is on th kandalf you might get a 120.1.

If it is the kadalf having the 120.3 radiator should be enough unless you OC every component then you may see a difference in your CPU temps since the aluminum fin rad wouldn't wick the heat as well as all copper rad.

I hope this help a little and people with a little more knowledge than I can help you.
Rjcouture1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-08, 11:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
Daemonex
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle

 
Its not the kandalf. Its the Armor+ case. I see the Kandalf has a radiator with 3 120mm fans attached to it, mine definitely doesn't have that kind of cooling power.

The armor is a large case, so fitting a secondary loop in there wouldn't be a problem. I probably would be able to fit a pump and a radiator with 2 or 3 120mm fans (Depending on if I take out the HDD bays). I know I would definitely have to add another radiator in the least, I just don't know if I should have separate loops or not.

I just don't have the experience to know which option would be better. If I expanded it, would I need an extra pump as well as another radiator? Would having two pumps cause problems (The custom pump would probably push more liquid then the built in one)? I just don't know the answers to these questions.

So far I'm of the "Separate loop" mindset.
Daemonex is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 12:06 AM   #6
Rjcouture1
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Worcester,Ma

 
I looked up your case and as jr1 and dark bishop here have recomended the seperate loop would be best.
Rjcouture1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 12:51 AM   #7
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Yea, full new second loop. You'll need a 120.3 to pull the heat and the TT pump isn't known for good flow rates with the added restrictions of more blocks etc.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 01:00 PM Thread Starter   #8
Daemonex
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle

 
Alright then. So should I use a 120.2 or a 120.3? I know a 120.3 would be better, but would it run ok with a 120.2 (There will probably be 3 video cards in the system). Would it run ok with 120.1 and a 120.2? And how should the loop be structured? Pump>Gpu>Gpu>Gpu>Radiator? Or is there a better format?

Sorry for all the questions, just don't want to screw this up.
Daemonex is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 10:28 PM   #9
jr1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: norway

 
better asking a question to much instead of screwing up ;-))
if your going with 2 rads i think i would go for one inbetween the second and the third gpu
like res>pump>gpu1>gpu2>rad>gpu3 and back to res

__________________
Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
Psu : ocz fatality 700w
Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
Pump : mcp655
Rad : Sr1 480
Res : swiftech microres v1
Fittings : various kompression and barbs
tubing : primoflex pro white
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622
jr1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 10:43 PM   #10
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
If you go THREE GPU's please go at least a 120x3, and preferably a well performing rad with big fans. And going to the rad between the 2-3rd GPU would make a BIG mess to the tubing solution. Granted the last GPU will prolly see an increase of 5C or so, but these cards run fine at 80C, and you'll be at 55C or so under load, wayyy under any temp worries.

Go a PA 120.3 with full speed mediums or a 120x4 for the 3 GPU's especaily if you plan to OC.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-08, 12:13 AM Thread Starter   #11
Daemonex
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle

 
Awesome. Thanks so much for all of your help. Now to pay off my credit bill and load it up again. ^.^
Daemonex is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?