Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Extra LCD, need ideas for use

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-08, 08:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
syrian_gamer
Member

 
syrian_gamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Extra LCD, need ideas for use


Hello everybody. I recenty got what i think is the best deal ever. I got a 20 inch acer LCD for 70$ with tax...Canadian

anyways i have no idea what i could do with it. My desk is kinda small, so i couldnt really use dual screen. If i did i would have to put the screen at 90 and maybe use it when im reading articles or browsing these forums

My second idea was to hook it up on my wall and use it as a media center pc, and use a tv tuner card.

Thats where my ideas and use for this extra screen end. Im sure all the modders out there will have some ideas of what i can do with it. So post your ideas here (No matter how crazy) and maybe ill do 1 of them and post some pics

Also i will not put the screen in my computer, there just isnt enough room in my case

__________________
Case ----- Ultra X-Blaster
CPU ------ Q6600
-Heatsink - Ultima-90
Ram ------ 2GB OCZ PC6400 800mhz
GPU ------ XFX 8800GT
-Heatsink - HR-03GT
PSU ------ MODU 82+ 600W
Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers: Logitech G15 v2, Logitech G7 v1, Logitech X-530 5.1 speakers
syrian_gamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 08:33 PM   #2
jamesman32

 
jamesman32's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Suffield, Connecticut

 
I have a similer conundrum. I got a 17 inch monitor free last week and have no use for it. I cant fit it on my desk next to my 22 inch so, thats out. I've got my mini-note with its 9 inch screen so I could wall mount it and use it as a sort of docking station....but that seems like a stupid idea.
jamesman32 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 09:34 PM Thread Starter   #3
syrian_gamer
Member

 
syrian_gamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
hmm u know thats actualy not a bad idea, if/when i get a macbook i could maybe start up like vnc or synergie, and see whats happening on the big screen. however whats the point, im not gona have my head constantly turned around anyways.

Oh Em Gee i got kind of a crazy psycho ocforums type idea. I buy a touchscreen sensor, put it on the screen, and cut a hole where my current keyboard is and put that screen there. Load up a picture of a keyboard, or heck just have the microsoft onscreen keyboard, and use that to type . Now how good would it be? probably lame, but it woudl be a neat cheapo microsoft surface


Anybody else have any ideas? what would you do with a spare lcd screen?

__________________
Case ----- Ultra X-Blaster
CPU ------ Q6600
-Heatsink - Ultima-90
Ram ------ 2GB OCZ PC6400 800mhz
GPU ------ XFX 8800GT
-Heatsink - HR-03GT
PSU ------ MODU 82+ 600W
Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers: Logitech G15 v2, Logitech G7 v1, Logitech X-530 5.1 speakers
syrian_gamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-08, 11:04 PM   #4
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
get a esk mount that connect to your desk and let you hang the LCD' from it, giving you the room if you want to spend like $100+ for a mount..lol

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-08, 01:21 AM   #5
TheGame240
Member

 
TheGame240's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Muscle Shoals, AL

10 Year Badge
 
If your desk is deep enough and the current monitor doesn't set too high, get a riser and place it behind the current monitor so the second is on top of the first.

That or I'd go with Mr. G's idea and buy/build some kind of mount to place it on the side of your desk.
TheGame240 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-08, 06:29 PM Thread Starter   #6
syrian_gamer
Member

 
syrian_gamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
i was thinking of using it as a secondary monitor, although it would have to be vertical. Although i dont want to worry about the hassels of gaming using 2 monitors. I play alot of TF2, Crysis, etc. So how will it work? i dont nessicarily want to play in a windowed mode everytime, what happens if i play a game fullscreen in 1 monitor? And wont i be loosing performance since the videocard also has to render my desktop

__________________
Case ----- Ultra X-Blaster
CPU ------ Q6600
-Heatsink - Ultima-90
Ram ------ 2GB OCZ PC6400 800mhz
GPU ------ XFX 8800GT
-Heatsink - HR-03GT
PSU ------ MODU 82+ 600W
Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers: Logitech G15 v2, Logitech G7 v1, Logitech X-530 5.1 speakers
syrian_gamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 04:14 AM   #7
TheGame240
Member

 
TheGame240's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Muscle Shoals, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Games will only show on the primary display (you can set it to clone or show on secondary display depending on video card/drivers used). I've never noticed a performance hit with a secondary display enabled. 2d rendering requires so little processing power there shouldn't be any problem gaming with the second monitor enabled.
TheGame240 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 10:55 PM   #8
moto211
Member

 
moto211's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Cut a hole in your desktop the size of whatever monitor is smaller. flush mount a piece of glass to cover the hole and mount the screen underneath. Configure your extended desktop with the desk screen under the main monitor so you can move your mouse to the bottom of your main monitor and onto the desk screen. use the screen to display vital information, feeds, todo lists, etc.

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 @ 3.0Ghz @ 1.32v BIOS----------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU: Core i7 2600K
Mobo: Abit IP35-Pro--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Mobo: MSI P67A-GD65
Cooler: TRU120E Lapped w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 133cfm-----------Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360 kit with 3x120 fans in push
RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800-----------------------------------------RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) CORSAIR Vengeance DDR3-1600
Graphics: MSI 3870OC 512mb GDDR4 XXX BIOS 850/1200--------------------------------Graphics: EVGA GT240 512mb GDDR5
PSU: Corsair TX750------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PSU: Corsair HX650
moto211 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?