Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Dual Xeon 5430 Core Temp

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-08, 05:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
mquinn
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Dual Xeon 5430 Core Temp


All
I am asking on this forum because here are the guys who know this
stuff (cpu temps etc...)



Have a Dell Precision Desktop T7400 ( 2 x E5430 ) and I used CoreTemp (http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/) to measure temps (just cos i was curious) and got the following temps. Or is this tool just inaccurate/misleading.

Ambient was about 16C. The temps just seem wierd, do I expect to
see such a wide variation on temps from the same CPU ??

Especially note the temps on the CPU2 (7C ???)

But also, the wide variation of "avg" temp between CPU1 and CPU2

NOTE: 0% load
CPU 1
Core 0 = 41C
Core 1 = 61C
Core 2 = 65C
Core 3 = 28C
CPU 2
Core 0 = 7C
Core 1 = 20C
Core 2 = 19C
Core 3 = 20C
mquinn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 10:52 AM   #2
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
No you don't expect that kinda variation but some of the temp sensors on the 45nm quad CPUs are stuck. Download the latest RealTemp and run the sensor test. That'll probably identify the weird readings as problematic sensors. Once the cores reads are bogus then the average would also be screwed.

Let us know if that helps.

__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V Pro , Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz using 1.3V
-- Corsair DDR3 1600 (4*2Gb) 9-9-9-24
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Areca RAID 5, 4 80G SATAII HDDs
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
ASUS Rampage II Extreme @180Mhz
, Intel i7 920 D0 @3.6Ghz using 1.3V, Thermalright 120
--
G.Skill DDR3 1600 (3*2Gb) 8-8-8-21, Win7 64-bit
--
Lian-Li PC-V1200
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 11:16 AM   #3
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
yea the sensor doesnt correctly ID idle temps... now if you saw that kind of difference with them under load, i would say bad contact of IHS to HS.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 11:25 AM   #4
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
yea the sensor doesnt correctly ID idle temps... .
Good point Evilsizer. Seems I remember that Intel does guarantee them to work as high temp sensors to trigger warnings or shutdown if needed. Correct?

__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V Pro , Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz using 1.3V
-- Corsair DDR3 1600 (4*2Gb) 9-9-9-24
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Areca RAID 5, 4 80G SATAII HDDs
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
ASUS Rampage II Extreme @180Mhz
, Intel i7 920 D0 @3.6Ghz using 1.3V, Thermalright 120
--
G.Skill DDR3 1600 (3*2Gb) 8-8-8-21, Win7 64-bit
--
Lian-Li PC-V1200
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 11:43 AM   #5
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
Good point Evilsizer. Seems I remember that Intel does guarantee them to work as high temp sensors to trigger warnings or shutdown if needed. Correct?
well i dont know what intel guarantee's as far as the temp sensor goes. Though the sensors does work correctly when reading load temps, imo that is all that matters. since the Thermal Trip "device" built into the cpu, will then activate once past XX degree's. depending on the motherboard you can change the shut down temp, so when XX degree's is past it will shutdown. though the thermal trip device im talking about in the cpu, once it see's XX degress. will actually lower the multi to reduce the cpu speed to get the temps down. Giving us in some cases a backup to the mainboard's "shutdown temp" incase that isnt there or not working correctly.

**sorry i have habit of covering things even if some knew about it**

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-08, 11:46 AM   #6
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
.....

**sorry i have habit of covering things even if some knew about it**
Absolutely never hurts.

__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V Pro , Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz using 1.3V
-- Corsair DDR3 1600 (4*2Gb) 9-9-9-24
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Areca RAID 5, 4 80G SATAII HDDs
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
ASUS Rampage II Extreme @180Mhz
, Intel i7 920 D0 @3.6Ghz using 1.3V, Thermalright 120
--
G.Skill DDR3 1600 (3*2Gb) 8-8-8-21, Win7 64-bit
--
Lian-Li PC-V1200
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?