Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Can 4.0GHz with a q6600 be achieved?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-08, 12:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
Caillech
Registered

 
Caillech's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota

 
Can 4.0GHz with a q6600 be achieved?


So I've been trying for a long time now to see how far I can push my q6600. so far I've ran somewhat steady at 3.7 (I'm pretty new to overclocking).

My question though, has anybody reached a steady 4.0 or can that be done? If not I am pretty sure I can reach 3.8 safely with my setup im just not really experienced and not very good at getting the voltage and all that fun stuff correct. I'm running an asus formula rampage with a watercooled q6600.

Overall here i'm just trying to up my overclocking skills with this processor by learning from your experience so i can reach max stable performance. Thanks!
Caillech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 12:23 PM   #2
+sYnc3+
Member

 
+sYnc3+'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008

 
hmmm...


4.0 can be done...just make sure ur super cooled...those quads run ridiculously hot...ive heard some 4.0 quads somewhat stable..some apps work good..but some crash @ that clock..you say u failed when u tried the 4.0 clock..waht failed..wouldnt post...? not stable?...
check this out...http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25...uad-q6600-0ghz

__________________

Rig=Asus P67 pro
i7 2600k@ 4.5 45x100 1.29vcore chilled w/ Thermalright Archon
Corsair tx750 psu
WD 1tb black 6g/s
8GIG CORSAIR vengeance ddr3 1600mhz
Asus gtx470
ANTEC P182
Dual booting with Windows 7 x64 and Gentoo Linux x64
Folding handle +sYnc3+ for TEAM 32

Last edited by +sYnc3+; 09-12-08 at 12:25 PM. Reason: ..
+sYnc3+ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 12:30 PM Thread Starter   #3
Caillech
Registered

 
Caillech's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota

 
I was able to get to windows and get HW monitor, and cpuz open just in time for it to crash, after that it failed to post on all other attempts. im just running at a stock 2.4 right now until I can figure out how to stabilize at at least 3.8
Caillech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 12:33 PM   #4
+sYnc3+
Member

 
+sYnc3+'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008

 
hmm..


what cpu multiplier are u using..what voltage and what is the ram set to in the bios

__________________

Rig=Asus P67 pro
i7 2600k@ 4.5 45x100 1.29vcore chilled w/ Thermalright Archon
Corsair tx750 psu
WD 1tb black 6g/s
8GIG CORSAIR vengeance ddr3 1600mhz
Asus gtx470
ANTEC P182
Dual booting with Windows 7 x64 and Gentoo Linux x64
Folding handle +sYnc3+ for TEAM 32
+sYnc3+ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 12:36 PM   #5
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
Some of the earlier GO's could do 4.0 daily stable. Those are Golden chips, but really your chances of getting a new oneto 4.0 with out extreme cooling is pretty slim. You may be able to do a suicide run, but that's about it.

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 01:02 PM Thread Starter   #6
Caillech
Registered

 
Caillech's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dapman02 View Post
Some of the earlier GO's could do 4.0 daily stable. Those are Golden chips, but really your chances of getting a new oneto 4.0 with out extreme cooling is pretty slim. You may be able to do a suicide run, but that's about it.
My chip is somewhat older GO model. I don't necessary have to settle for 4.0 or even 3.8 I'm just looking for numbers to achieve the highest overclock this processor is capable of with a high end cooler.

+sYnc3+, I am at 2.4 right now and just running stock but i pretty much failed to write down what I have tried so far. I've mostly gone through forums and used them as guides since I'm not comfortable doing my own work yet.
Caillech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 01:27 PM   #7
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caillech View Post
My chip is somewhat older GO model. I don't necessary have to settle for 4.0 or even 3.8 I'm just looking for numbers to achieve the highest overclock this processor is capable of with a high end cooler.

+sYnc3+, I am at 2.4 right now and just running stock but i pretty much failed to write down what I have tried so far. I've mostly gone through forums and used them as guides since I'm not comfortable doing my own work yet.
Did you read through this guide?
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=515316

Its very helpful. ALso make sure you always write down settings of each attempt so you know where stability was.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 02:43 PM   #8
Maglin
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Dakota

 
Caillech I have very similuar hardware to yours. I have water blocks on my SB, NB, Fets, and Dtek Fusion w/quad nozzel on the Q6600. It's an earlier G0 as well. I've got 3.6 ghz rock solid stable (minus the S3 state crashes in Vista). I've got 3.91 ghz stable with a lot of voltage. Running 435 FSB and mem 1:1 I'm pushing 1.475 Vcore and 6 hour OCCT temps of 50*C. I say 6 hours as by then the entire loop temp has stabilized. My NB never get's over 35*F.

I'm able to do some benches at 4.0 (445x9) but it's just to unstable. I'm looking for a 24/7 4 ghz and it's just not happening for me. I've pumped as much as 1.575 Vcore with better luck but I don't want to run it 24/7 with that. I've seen a lot of people saying most Q6600's have a 435mhz FSB wall of sorts which requires a lot of PLL voltage along with a lot of Vcore to cross.

Edit: I forgot to mention that my Q6600 has a vid of like 1.325 or something like that. I'm at work so I don't know it off hand. I'm usually unlucky with processors as I tend to always get CPU's with high VID's.

__________________
Proc: Intel C2Q Q6600 @ 3.91 (435x9)
M/B: Asus Maximus Rampage X38
Cooling: D-tec Fusion w/quad nozzel and every EK block for the formula on DDC3.2 and PA 120.3
Mem: 4x2gb G.Skills PC2-8000 @ 1066mhz
Video: Saphire HD6850 1GB
PSU: Silverstone DA850w
Maglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 02:56 PM   #9
pascalbrown
Member

 
pascalbrown's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Heart of England

 
It's definitely possible. Plenty of people on these forums have a Q6600 at 4GHz. My current one has a VID of 1.3v and I have it stable at 3.7GHz. I can post at 3.9GHz if I get crazy with the volts, but my cooling isn't adequate.

I did have another Q6600 with a VID of 1.2125 but it ran super hot and my cooling wasn't anywhere near good enough, but I'm sure it would have run stable at 4GHz under water.

Basically, it all depends on the chip you get.

__________________

The New; Q9650 at 4.25GHz (500*8.5) 1.4V (True -Lapped - Modified - 2 fans)
Gigabyte UD3P
2*2Gb OCZ Flex 2 9600 @ 1200MHz
4TB Storage
Asus 7950gt 512mb w/ Thermalright HR-03
X-fi extreme music
Thermaltake Eureka (Black)


The Old; Q6600 at 3.7GHz
The Very Old; E6600 at 3.60GHz (400*9) 1.5V (Tuniq Tower)
pascalbrown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-08, 04:30 PM   #10
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
It also might help if you use a P45 mobo.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-08, 05:48 PM   #11
Maglin
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Dakota

 
It appears that the newer P45 boards are the ticket for any FSB OCing these days. I got the Maximus when it first came out. The stock NB water block was pretty cheesy and inefficient for my tastes.

But the OP already has a Rampage Formula. I'm personally going to stick with my x38 board until my next warrented cpu socket change. Got to much money invested already in this setup to ditch it after not even a year. I'm going to do some cleaning on my rig this weekend and try to work to get 435x9 stable and I'll post up my setting for the OP to try once/if I get it nailed.

__________________
Proc: Intel C2Q Q6600 @ 3.91 (435x9)
M/B: Asus Maximus Rampage X38
Cooling: D-tec Fusion w/quad nozzel and every EK block for the formula on DDC3.2 and PA 120.3
Mem: 4x2gb G.Skills PC2-8000 @ 1066mhz
Video: Saphire HD6850 1GB
PSU: Silverstone DA850w

Last edited by Maglin; 09-18-08 at 04:15 PM.
Maglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?