• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

project gear-box

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

beingblueeyes

Registered
By trade I’m an auto tech but I love computers and building them so project gear box is my way of trying to put the 2 together by building a computer and incorporating a lot of automotive stuff in the process. Im building it just for gaming. Today I started building the case from ¼ inch plexiglass, I chose this due to the fact it reminded me of the Polycarbonate which race cars use for windows.
DSC00916.jpg
[/IMG]
The case will hold 4 hard drives (as the plan stands right now 3 32 gb raptors in raid0 for windows and one 500 gb hd) have one dvd drive and will be water cooled, for the radiator im going to use an oil cooler from a turbo Volvo and for a water pump I’m going to use either 2 fuel pumps from 4 cylinder imports or one 255 lph performance pump I have laying around.
DSC00917.jpg
[/IMG]
DSC00918.jpg
[/IMG]
To cool the radiator I’m going to be using a bilge fan (I know its from a boat) rated at 175 cfm at 12 volts and I might employ a voltage step up transformer (silver box in same pic) which turns 12 to 24 volts on the bilge fan for a extreme turbo cooling boost. More to come when I get more supplies

I like what you are doing here. I'll be following this closely as I'm a bit of a car nut myself. Looking forward to seeing your progress, and what car parts find their way into the project.

First off, I really like where this project is going. It looks to be a unique mod.

On the other hand, I thought fuel pumps rusted when you ran water through them?

On the other hand, I thought fuel pumps rusted when you ran water through them?

I’m planning to fun 80 antifreeze/20 water so I’m not sure if it will rust or not, time will tell