• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1st build attempt, looking for input

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pulse

I've never built before, but I've been reading up on components for weeks, and I'm pretty sure I have a decent selection. There are still some things I'm just not sure about, though.

I'm aiming for something to run games at 1920x1200 on a 24" monitor. I haven't overclocked before, but I'd like it to be an option. Ideally I'd like my system to hold up for 3-4 years. I'd like to keep the tower budget around $1200, though I wouldn't rule out going higher.

Case: Antec Twelve Hundred
Probably bigger than I need right now, but I won't have to worry about space.

PSU: Corsair 650TX
Some people swear by modular PSU's, is there any benefit to them other than cable management? I'm not sure they're worth the price jump for me. Some PSU cables come up short in full tower cases, I don't know if these cables are long enough.

Video Card: Asus EAH4850
Not really sure what brand to get, this is just the cheapest one right now. I don't know if this will be adequate for 1920x1200, and I'm not sure if I would be better off with a 4870 or crossfired 4850's. 2 4850's sound like a better value, but I know 4850's run hot, and putting 2 of them together kind of concerns me. The 4850x2 could be good if it ever comes out. 4870x2 seems too expensive.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
I've seen this recommended countless times. Q6600 would be an alternative, but it sounds like Duo suits my needs.

Motherboard: Asus P5Q Pro
$35 off combo with E8400... I see a lot of people use the Deluxe, but I'm not sure what it offers for the price.

Memory: G.Skill 4GB PC2 6400
The PC2 8000 version is only a few dollars more, but I don't see motherboards listing compatibility with that, so I'm not sure how good it is.