Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Iron Man Bluray won't start

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-08, 10:31 AM Thread Starter   #1
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Iron Man Bluray won't start


In case nobody has seen this I got the Iron Man Bluray last night and attempted to play it and it just sits there at his chest piece forever. Basically you just have to wait...up to 15 minutes for some players and then it just starts. Sounds like this is PS3 issue mostly

http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums...ic_id=26614355

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 10:33 AM   #2
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
annoying. cant they make these things play a movie!

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 10:40 AM   #3
Nebulous
Seor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
I'll stick with the reg DVD version thank you very much

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 10:42 AM Thread Starter   #4
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
It worked awesome as soon as I left it long enough which was well under 15 minutes by the way. It looks great on bluray like everything does

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 03:37 PM   #5
hainer36
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Niagara, ON

 
same problem, it was with BD-Live, so either disconnect from the net, or set ur BD Settings to confirm and hit no when it asks you to connect to the net. its a weird one, but hopefully it gets fixed (no big deal on no BD-Live)

__________________
________________________________Heat
_______________________Shipping to Canada? READ THIS!

Folding User Stats
hainer36 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 04:05 PM Thread Starter   #6
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
I just wanted people to see this and not take the disc back thinking it was defective

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 04:38 PM   #7
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Oh, yeah! This movie was like, the big test of most BD-DVD players' online function, wasn't it?

Perhaps it was just due to server load then?

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 09:17 PM   #8
Blackstar
Member

 
Blackstar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
I'll stick with the reg DVD version thank you very much

Ew. How low-rez-20th-Century of you.


- Blackstar

__________________
-= No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always gotten there first, and is waiting for it. =-

:: You are not your system specs.
:: You are not your uptime stats, your script file, or your oversized desktop screencap.
:: You are not your broadband connection.
:: You are not your sexy avatar.
:: You are not your post count.

"This is UNSC AI Serial Number CTN0452-9. I am a monument to all your sins."
Blackstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-08, 11:54 PM   #9
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
I'll stick with the reg DVD version thank you very much
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trap05 View Post
I just wanted people to see this and not take the disc back thinking it was defective
as far as i am concerned it is if i cant stick it in, press play and be done with it....

if it doesnt work = problem


- i saw the DVD version, i also saw the BR version - trust, me there is a nice diff!

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 12:12 AM   #10
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
Blu-ray version is ungodly. Probably one of the best looking HD movies I have seen so far.

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 12:34 AM   #11
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trap05 View Post
I just wanted people to see this and not take the disc back thinking it was defective
DD Experience not BD

I have had some problems with this on rentals on my PCs lately (not all movies just some) and one movie would not play in my MIL's DVD player (dont think she waited 15 minutes though)

On my PC it was obviously a copy protection issue. Installed AnyDVD and it worked fine. Since it was the same movie that went into the DVD player I assume its the same issue.

In my case it was a Disney movie. Not as notorious as Sony but still quite heavy into DRM.

odd that Iron man, a marvel company, distributed by paramount which released this one year ago http://news.cnet.com/8301-10784_3-9764237-7.html

So who knows....

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 03:48 PM   #12
Nebulous
Seor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment View Post
as far as i am concerned it is if i cant stick it in, press play and be done with it....

if it doesnt work = problem


- i saw the DVD version, i also saw the BR version - trust, me there is a nice diff!

Mr G, I know what you mean, and you're right, there is a difference.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackstar View Post
Ew. How low-rez-20th-Century of you.


- Blackstar

Hey if I could afford a BR player i would have one, but for now a reg DVD version does me just fine. At least I can still see it. Beats not beinag able to see it at all

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 03:53 PM   #13
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post




Hey if I could afford a BR player i would have one, but for now a reg DVD version does me just fine. At least I can still see it. Beats not beinag able to see it at all
Hey, you could see the disk, the case, the reactions on your friends faces when you say you have the BR version of Iron Man...

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 04:14 PM   #14
greyharte
Member

 
greyharte's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: new mexico

 
hell ... im not gonna bother w/ BR untill i have a tv that can see it ... screw the friends ... the tv we're running right now is an older (5yrs?) 50" JVC rear projection that has a 480 resolution ... not even worth trying w/ that beast
greyharte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-08, 04:19 PM   #15
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
i a 720P TV, i just don't want to get stuck with stupid bugs like this, pay good money for a player, pay twice as much for a BR movies vs DVD - get home - wont play.. and i am sure you cant take it back for a refund either...

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?