Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Upgrading 4870 512 to 1gb questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-08, 03:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
Doogiehowser
Registered

 
Doogiehowser's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Prussia

 
Upgrading 4870 512 to 1gb questions


I currently have a 1.5 month old HIS 4870 512 and a 24" monitor w/1900x1200 res. I would like to get the 1gb version for better gameplay at 1900x1200. I know that i could run CF with the 512 and 1gb version just fine. My question is if i wanted to sell/trade my 512mb version, what would be the best means of doing this? And what brand name 4870 1gb should i go with? Id much rather sell or trade since i can gather the remaining money pretty easily w/o stressing my budget. Any suggestions would be fantastic. Thank you ahead of time.

__________________
Rig: q9550 @ 3.825ghz 1.26v, P5E Deluxe w/ 0410 RF Bios, Corsair Dominator pc8500 @ 1081mhz, TRUE, XFX 4890 (RIP sapphire 4870), Auzen Forte + JVC HA-RX900 cans, WD 6400AAKS SE16, Corsair TX750w, Antec 900, Win 7 RC 64bit
Doogiehowser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-08, 06:44 PM   #2
mattgmann
Member



Join Date: Sep 2008

 
I suggest you wait until you find a game other than crysis that gives you trouble at that res. By then, prices will have come down. The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12. It's probably a waste of money and time to switch out cards. I'd just wait a bit, and add a second 4870 for CF when you can budget it.

__________________
i7 920 @4.5ghz -----------------------Q6600@3.6ghz
x58 sli le-------------------------------Tpower i45
6gb ocz plat 1600 cas7 ----------------4gb pc2 6400
2X 4870s (800\1100)-------------------8800gt
Antec Signature Series 850W---------Toughpower 650W
mattgmann is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-08, 07:08 PM   #3
th3
Member

 
th3's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Quote:
The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12.
Its not only about framerates, the 1GB will be smoother, or as OP said, "better gameplay".

One example in this link, found it somewhere in this forum:
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...VudGh1c2lhc3Q=

Quote:
the 1GB video card did actually help us in another way, a way which we cannot exactly show you here, only try to explain to you.
....
with the 1GB 4870 these pauses didn’t occur at all, there were smoother transitions through the Stalker world as we would walk or run through it. When we entered new areas, new buildings, or new tasks loaded it was seamless, just the way we’d expect it to be, and thus in that way it helps the gameplay experience positively. It should also be noted the GTX 260 was also smoother in this way, because it too has a large memory capacity.
th3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-08, 07:16 PM   #4
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattgmann View Post
I suggest you wait until you find a game other than crysis that gives you trouble at that res. By then, prices will have come down. The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12. It's probably a waste of money and time to switch out cards. I'd just wait a bit, and add a second 4870 for CF when you can budget it.
Closer to 10+ in some games.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-at...024mb-review/8

But in MOST games, the difference is hardly noticable. It can be made up just overclocking the 512MB version. The 1GB version is a really crappy overclocker so I say stick with what you have and just OC it.


As for the smoothness argument, that's always been subjective to the user.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-08, 09:36 PM   #5
Craxbax
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vixro View Post
The 1GB version is a really crappy overclocker.
Not really...just the memory OCs poorly unless you volt mod...the core does just fine. The core speed has much more influence on performance than the memory so it isn't a big deal. For $30 difference get the extra memory if you are buying a 4870. +1 on keeping the 512 mb version and OCing it if you already have one.

__________________
3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

"Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain
Craxbax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-08, 11:25 PM   #6
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craxbax View Post
Not really...just the memory OCs poorly unless you volt mod...the core does just fine. The core speed has much more influence on performance than the memory so it isn't a big deal. For $30 difference get the extra memory if you are buying a 4870. +1 on keeping the 512 mb version and OCing it if you already have one.
I can't get more than 800 out of my core.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-08, 07:12 AM   #7
Craxbax
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
That sucks! Just a few thoughts...have you remounted your cooler with new TIM such as AS... or even replaced it with an after market one? Also try leaving the memory at stock and just OC the core. The stock cooler may not be cooling the VRM adequately. You could also put some heatsinks on VRM? Obviously that would entail installing a new cooler. OF course maybe your chip is limited...all are not created equal.

__________________
3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

"Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain
Craxbax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-08, 09:26 AM   #8
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craxbax View Post
That sucks! Just a few thoughts...have you remounted your cooler with new TIM such as AS... or even replaced it with an after market one? Also try leaving the memory at stock and just OC the core. The stock cooler may not be cooling the VRM adequately. You could also put some heatsinks on VRM? Obviously that would entail installing a new cooler. OF course maybe your chip is limited...all are not created equal.
yes yes yes yes. My card just sucks [for OCing].

That being said, it runs pretty f'in stellar at stock and I don't dread the upgrade at all. I was just saying if you already had a 4870 512MB the upgrade didn't make sense to me.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-08, 09:49 AM   #9
Craxbax
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Agreed. My guess is your GPU needs more volts to go higher. If you are happy then fooling with the bios or volt modding doesn't make much sense. The thread on that subject was pretty impressive on what the 4800 series is cable of.

I just now received my replacement Powercolor HD 4870 PCS+ 1gb so we will see how it goes. The last one wouldn't even boot into XP 32. Hope this one works as advertised.

__________________
3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

"Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain
Craxbax is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?