Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

socket 939 board

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-08, 02:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
altoid

 
altoid's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008

 
socket 939 board


i need a good socket 939 board for overclocking. i have an amd 64 4200+ running at 2.21ghz, but i can't push it up on the stock board i'm using right now.

i was thinking about the DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra, since i've heard it's good, but i have ddr2 sdram and i don't think that's compatible with it.

does anyone know a good board that's somewhere around under 160 that they could recommend?
my system is liquid cooled, plus i plan to add a chipset cooler onto the new board i get, and space isn't an issue either since it's a full tower.
altoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 10-19-08, 02:16 PM   #2
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
there isnt ANY socket 939 cpu that is compatible with ddr2.....

are you sure you dont have an AM2 socket?

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-08, 02:39 PM Thread Starter   #3
altoid

 
altoid's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008

 
i guess i got misled to the socket.. i'm using a stock board so i couldn't get specs, so when i searched for the socket for these processors it came up as 939.

can amd 64 x2 4200+ cpu's fit am2? those have 940 pins, i think?
altoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-08, 02:46 PM   #4
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
there are 4200+ cpus that are AM2 socket

run CPU-Z and it will tell you what mobo, socket, etc you are running

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-08, 04:01 PM Thread Starter   #5
altoid

 
altoid's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008

 
yeah thanks for that, it's AM2

alright, it should be easier to find a mobo now
altoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?