Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Two cards one Pc

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-08, 12:35 AM Thread Starter   #1
dirtyp
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
Two cards one Pc


I have a pcie x850xt and I want to hook up a pci x1300 at the same time. I read I could do this and vista would use the same driver. I want the shader 3 and dont want to switch out my cards and have to use the less powerful x1300. So anyway I can get these both working?

__________________
X2 620 - ECS 780G Ultra - ATI 3870 - 8 GB Kingston 667b - Rosewell True Green 430

P4520 @3.38 - 775 dual vista - x850xt - M-Audio Mobile Pre - 4GB 800 Ram - 300 GB SATA - 600 Watt OCZ
dirtyp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-08, 01:02 AM   #2
prime81
Member

 
prime81's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Odessa, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtyp View Post
I have a pcie x850xt and I want to hook up a pci x1300 at the same time. I read I could do this and vista would use the same driver. I want the shader 3 and dont want to switch out my cards and have to use the less powerful x1300. So anyway I can get these both working?
While what your talking about is possible with the AMD 790 chipset utilizing crossfireX, I don't think you could do it with your current setup.

__________________

i7 2700K@4.8ghz w 1.36v(offset +.045)
Corsair XMS 3 2 x 4gb 2000mhz CAS 9
Corsair H100
Sapphire HD7970 3gb
OCZ Agility 3 240gb
Antec 1200 Case
SB recon3D/Sennheiser HD595s
Zalman 850HP Powa!

-Folding for Team32-
prime81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-08, 01:10 AM   #3
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
The only way this could possibly work is if you hooked up a seperate monitor to each card and switched primary displays before starting up a game. Now this would require a lot of luck assuming that the driver and Vista can handle this with stability.

I'm not sure if this is what you were asking, but it will not be possible at all to get the two cards to work together in rendering 3D games.

In any case, I don't see the point. Any game which could take advantage of pixel shader 3 will be unplayable on a PCI X1300 at any decent quality setting. You're better off sticking with the X850.

If you really want PS3.0, I would buy something like this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102726
and sell your current cards on eBay.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-08, 08:42 AM   #4
Alien432
Tech Savvy Member

 
Alien432's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kansas, USA

 
Two different cards really only works when you have dual monitors. Each card would support a monitor.

__________________
Mobo - Gigabyte G1.Assassin2
CPU - Core i7 20 D0 4.5 @1.376v batch 3849
CPU HSF - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - Deluxe Edition
GPU - <MSI 770
Memory - G.Skill DDR3 4x4 16GB
HDD - 240gb SSD + 150GB WD Raptors
PSU - Corsair 1000W
Case - Tech Bench
Monitor - Samsung p270 Black 27" 5ms Widescreen LCD
OS - Windows 7 Pro
Heatware
Alien432 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-08, 03:50 AM Thread Starter   #5
dirtyp
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
i do have two monitors but the second stays blank.

I'm looking to pick something up on black friday but I want to play now!

__________________
X2 620 - ECS 780G Ultra - ATI 3870 - 8 GB Kingston 667b - Rosewell True Green 430

P4520 @3.38 - 775 dual vista - x850xt - M-Audio Mobile Pre - 4GB 800 Ram - 300 GB SATA - 600 Watt OCZ
dirtyp is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?