Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

AMD Moves 32nm (Next Year By Latest)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-08, 09:20 AM Thread Starter   #1
AngelfireUk83
Member

 
AngelfireUk83's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England

 
AMD Moves 32nm (Next Year By Latest)


http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquir...nces-move-32nm

Niiiice! Smaller parts cheaper to make and less power hopefully good clocks and performance.

__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Board: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
CPU: INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1600mhz@1.60v)
OS Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD (FW 040H)
Spare Storage: Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD)
GPU/Audio: HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card (OC: 920/1270)
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU
Optical: LG GH24NS90 24x DVD-RW
AngelfireUk83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 09:50 AM   #2
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
could finally be AMD's move back into some actual competition with intel to give them a good run.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 10:31 AM   #3
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
When is the New York plant going to be open? I heard not till 2010. If that is true, then I guess the Germany plant will be seeing a huge upgrade.

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 01:52 PM   #4
altoid

 
altoid's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
When is the New York plant going to be open? I heard not till 2010. If that is true, then I guess the Germany plant will be seeing a huge upgrade.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Inquirer
These involve expanding and investing in the Dresden facilities, says EETimes Europe.
yep.

__________________
AMD Phenom 9950BE @ 2600 MHz (200x13) 1.280 V
DFI Lanparty DK 790FXB-M2RSH
Mushkin XP Ascent DDR2 1066 2x2GB @ 5-4-4-9
Nvidia GeForce 8500GT 512MB
500GB Western Digital 7200RPM 16MB buffer

Swiftech GTZ, triple 120mm fan Feser X-Changer, Swiftech pump, and Swiftech reservoir.

Windows XP 64 bit
altoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 04:01 PM   #5
Particle
Member

 
Particle's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Parsons, KS

10 Year Badge
 
It will be. The New York fab is set to debut at 22nm unless plans change from where they stand today.

__________________
Why does every thread boil down to a freaking AMD vs. Intel bashfest?
Particle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 04:12 PM   #6
BlackEdition
Member

 
BlackEdition's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
i am skeptical about amd's move to 32nm. just look at how long it has taken them to get to 45nm...

__________________
AMD Phenom II 955 BE
Corsair h50
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 790x
4GB G Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
Seagate SATA 250gb + WD SATA 500gb
Sapphire Radeon 5750
X-Fi Fatal1ty
OCZ EvoStream 720W PSU
LG SATA DVD Burner
BlackEdition is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 04:37 PM   #7
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
Intel has how many Fab plants, and how many does AMD have? You answer that, and then you will realize why its taken them so long. Also thanks to the last CEO, things went ****ty, along with the ATI buyout. Even though ATI has been a huge help to AMD, I think if the company had that extra money, things would be different.

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 04:37 PM   #8
terran2k
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
at least it looks like they're going back to pushing technology. they always had nice cpus but got caught off guard by riding the athlon 64 for too long.

__________________
Workstation - Windows 7 x64
AMD 1055T
Server - ESXi 5.0
INTEL E5-2603
terran2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 08:39 PM   #9
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
i wouldnt say they got caught off guard, i would say they had some infectious boils to lance

__________________
Phenom II "X6 1605T" @ 3.00Ghz
Sythe Yasa 6 Pipe Cooler
Biostar TA890FXE
16Gig G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-9-9-25 2T 667Mhz
MSI R7870 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC
Seagate 320Gig 7200.11
Seagate 1024Gig 7200.14
OCZ Stealth X Stream 600
LG LightScribe DVD Burner
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 11:20 PM   #10
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
Intel has how many Fab plants, and how many does AMD have? You answer that, and then you will realize why its taken them so long. Also thanks to the last CEO, things went ****ty, along with the ATI buyout. Even though ATI has been a huge help to AMD, I think if the company had that extra money, things would be different.
With Dubai backing them now, they got some serious cash by selling off the cpu side / manufacturing

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-08, 11:59 PM   #11
Yahira
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007

 
It takes what, about 2 years to bring a chip from start of design to production/market given that there are very few or no hiccups along the way?

I would bet that the new investors/owners around AMD are pushing very hard to get AMD back on much more even ground with Intel.

The newyork fab is as far as I understand it being built for 22nm, we will probably see that in h210 or early 2011. Many not chip sales at this point but starting hearing a lot about chip design. I don't recall what their time line said about 22nm, if anything at all.

I assume that in only a few months they will be pretty much done with 65nm production all together and be going totally on 45nm production and sales. During this time they will most likely be rushing to refit the fab as fast as they possibly can for 32nm production.

I think one of the benefits that we will see from their new deal is that AMD as a company will have much less to worry about as far as production goes. In the past they would have had to have put a great deal more consideration into the expense of refitting a fab while funding design and rnd on a new chip. For at least a little while I don't think this will be as much an issue because the investors (the foundry) will be sholdering the fab/refit costs leaving AMD to work on design of a good chip. By now they are probably already looking at their 32nm design (on paper) and working out how to make it work. After 45nm hits full scale production (assuming that they have no setbacks with any unforeseen problems) they will probably let it ride and go strait into 32nm rnd and get to testing as quickly as possible.

While they are working on the chip design the foundry will be moving the new equipment into the fab to get ready for production.

In short all I am saying is that for right now at least AMD is not in the position of a normal company. They are not being forced to divide up the money that they have (from profits) into different things that they need. They don't have to worry as much about the cost of refitting a fab and how much that will effect what they can spend on new chip design because the money for the fab side of things is coming from someone else. At this point they can just toss what money they do have into getting the new chips up and running as quickly as possible while they let the foundry worry about the cost of the fabs to produce it.

It isn't a blank check by any means but it certainly does give them a lot more freedom in expenses than they would have if they were forced to do this only on the money that they were making (like during normal times). Of course the fact that AMD isn't making a profit would have pretty much left them dead in the water for going to 32nm and then on to 22nm on any sort of short term time table. Not until they started getting money in from 45nm at the least and by the time they could afford it all they would have been farther behind (and that would have been saying all goes well with 45nm). The foundry has given them a way to not only get rid of a few of those problems but also provide enough extra money to accelerate the process of bringing new chips to market.

I could easily be wrong but I think that this deal of theirs has provided them with not only the means to maintain operations but maybe even catch up a little (or a lot being the hope). I also don't see these abu dhabi investors wanting to lose their money in the long run so I think they will push pretty hard to get AMD "back in the game" as quickly as they can, even if it means spending a few extra coin right now.

Now we just have to hope that going from deneb/shanghai to hydra (and whatever else they have planned) they will not get careless and end up letting a little problem slip through on them similar to what we saw with B2 K10s. While I think the investors keeping onto them to bring get to new chips quickly might be key to getting AMD back onto even footing with intel I also know that if they try to rush too much there is the chance for mistakes to be made. Let us hope that they avoid as many of those mistakes as possible.
Yahira is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?