Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

ocz reaper 1066 wont overclock at all

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-08, 08:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
geneticfreak60e
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
ocz reaper 1066 wont overclock at all


Please help me oc my memory.

I'm currently running the following rig
Asus P5Q mother board
Core2Duo E7200 @ 7.5 x 400 (stock cooling for now) 1.27v
2 x 1gb OCZ Reaper 1066 memory @ 1066 5.5.5.15 2.1v
Leadtek Geforece 9800gt 512mb
600w proline powersupply

My memory wont over clock at all even 1140mhz @ 7.7.7.18 at 2.3 volt wont even make post. And I am sure this is my main bottle neck as my fsb is curently 1600 and my memory only 1066. Id like to get it to 1200mhz at leased

Has any one been able to get these chips to run stable at a higher clock speed or do I need to buy new ram .

Thanx in advanced
geneticfreak60e is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-08, 10:48 AM   #2
cabose1227
Member

 
cabose1227's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California 805 ftw

 
You are not being bottlenecked by your ram at that speed, Go into the bios and link the ram and cpu fsb to 1:1, that will make it at the optimum mhz for the ram and cpu. It will probably under clock it, if it does then leave it at stock. you dont base it off the end 1600mhz bus of the cpu and the end ram mhz of 1066, you base it off of the fsb you set into the over clocking section and the divider you choose.

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
Silverstone FT03 Titanium
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
ATI HD 5970
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
WD Re4 500gig
WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
HEAT : caboose1227
cabose1227 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-08, 10:49 AM   #3
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
as said your ram can hit 533 FSb before it is being overclocked.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-08, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #4
geneticfreak60e
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Thanx for the fast replys , I get it 533 x 2 = 1066 and im only at 400mhz so im still cool maybey I schould take my ram down to 800 " 4.4.4.12??

. What kind off mem bandwidth is posible for a rig like this. what should I be aiming for Sissoft sandra says Im at 7400MB per sec. Would I get higher performance from ddr1200mhz memory

And a little off the toppic, My cpu at 3Ghz runs 60'C at full load, I would like to push my cpu to 3.4 or 3.6 ghz is it the temps that are limiting my cpu to a stable 3 to 3.2ghz or is 60 still acceptable and should I rather start looking for the limitation somewhere else .

Thanx Guys
geneticfreak60e is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-08, 03:57 PM   #5
UglyChild
Member

 
UglyChild's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mother Russia

 
Did you raise NB voltage??
UglyChild is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-08, 04:43 PM   #6
Pntgrd

 
Pntgrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Another thing to check with the P5Q is the Performance Level. Try a notch or two higher. I used some OCZ 1066 on mine and had no problems up to 1200 using a littler higher PL.

__________________
Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
CPU ---------------- QX9650
Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
Cooling -------------Watercooled
Pntgrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?