Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

WD6400AAKS vs WD6401AALS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-08, 05:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
-JJ-
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
WD6400AAKS vs WD6401AALS


I just switched from WD640AAKS x2 RAID 0 to WD6401AALS x2 RAID 0, and here are the results - AAKS vs AALS

System specs on which I ran HD Tach 3.0.4.0 long bench 32mb test un HD Tune 2.54 default test. I run all benches using the same exact OS image

MOBO: Asus P5K-E WIFI-AP (v.1006 bios)
CPU: C2D E8200 (Q744A860) @4,00ghz (1,353v vcore) cooled by TT BT
RAM: 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @1200Mhz (PC2-6400, D9GMH)
HDD: WD6400AAKS x 2 (RAID 0) / WD6401AALS x 2 (RAID 0)
VGA: ASUS RADEON HD4870 (1GB) cooled by TRAD2
SOUND: Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Zalman ZM850-HP


WD6400AAKS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tune 2.54



VS

WD6401AALS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tune 2.54



WD6400AAKS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tach 3.0.4.0



VS

WD6401AALS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tach 3.0.4.0


GENERAL REMARKS:

Unrar(ing) large archives takes even less time. Boot time with AAKS after fresh OS install (using image created with acronis true image) was around 12,5 sec., with AALS boot time after fresh OS install (using the same image as previously) was @10,3sec. Boot time was measured with Bootvis - Trace - Next boot + drivers delays. I clearly noticed that with AALS the hdd starts spinning much earlier in the boot process than AAKS.


StableTrac™ - The motor shaft is secured at both ends to reduce system-induced vibration and stabilize platters for accurate tracking, during read and write operations.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Probably StableTrac is the reason why AALS is so god damn quite!!!

Furthermore I noticed that read speed stayed unaffected, eventhough I was installing stuff at the same time and copying data from external hdd. Not sure whether its due to the bigger cache or to the new invented dual processor technology..
Attached Images
    
-JJ- is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-08, 06:35 PM   #2
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Thanks for the benchmarks! What I find most useful was this:

Quote:
Unrar(ing) large archives takes even less time. Boot time with AAKS after fresh OS install (using image created with acronis true image) was around 12,5 sec., with AALS boot time after fresh OS install (using the same image as previously) was @10,3sec. Boot time was measured with Bootvis - Trace - Next boot + drivers delays. I clearly noticed that with AALS the hdd starts spinning much earlier in the boot process than AAKS.
AALS's 32mb cache and StableTrac has indeed improve performance slightly.

Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-08, 11:21 PM   #3
MR-FIX-IT
Disabled



Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere on Long Island

 
RAID 0 all of those drives and watch your numbers come close to 500MB/s
MR-FIX-IT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-08, 05:15 AM Thread Starter   #4
-JJ-
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Results from the same setup while using the matrix raid (allocated 150gb from each hdd to one 300gb partition):

2 x WD6401AALS in MATRIX RAID 0 (300gb) HD Tune 2.54


2 x WD6401AALS in MATRIX RAID 0 (300gb) HD Tach 3.0.4.0
Attached Images
  
-JJ- is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-08, 08:41 AM   #5
Paragonics
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Hiya guys. Was reading these 'ere forums and in particular this thread, and it persuaded me to buy a couple of the AALs and pop em in RAID as I was looking for something quick to load up apps.

I would imagine my specs are a little different to most of you so I thought I'd post up what my results are with my specific specs, in case they might make a bit of an interesting read (glance).

Sys specs are (yes I need to upgrade, waiting for the i7/amd war/price drop):

Opteron 165 @ 4400x2 speed
2x 1Gig DDR266 (250Mhz)
Motherboard: 939Dual-SATA2
WD6401AALS x 2 (RAID 0)
8800GTS 320Mb

And both drives are connected to SATA1, Onboard Raid Control.


HD Tune 2.55 results:
Transfer Rates:
Min 111.3
Max 145.7
Av 135.6

Access Time 11.6
Burst Rate 93.6Mbs
CPU usage 20.9%


Ran the tests a couple of times, seems to be consistent. I know speeds are limited by both SATA1 and my cpu/ram speeds, but I have a few Qs though;

1) Why's the burst rate so dramatically different from others on here? I mean 4000mbs vs 94?

2) In JJ's last post, he seems to get significantly higher Min Transfer Rate. So am I right in saying that if I partition off the drive, I can expect higher min Transfer Rates in general? Sorry if that's a stupid question or anything.

3) I assume my CPU usage of 21% vs the general 5% of others in this thread is purely down to me having a slower pc, and not any sorta tweaks or changing anything in the BIOS I mighta missed?

4) And lastly, in HD Tune: Info - I see this:
- "Standard ATA/ATAPI-8 - SATA II" --(I do have 1 SATAII port, tho I'm using both SATA1 ports)
- "Suppported UDMA Mode 6 (Ultra ATA/133)
- "Active UDMA Mode 6 (Ultra ATA/133)


Does anyone see anything wrong there at all?

Cheers,
- A
Paragonics is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-08, 08:28 AM   #6
hitokiri_808
Member

 
hitokiri_808's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hawaii

 
Wow those access times in Matrix Raid 0 is amazing.

I got 2 WD10EACSs sitting on my desk that's gonna go matrix in a few days. Won't have the same transfer or access times as those 640s though.

@Para, His burst rates are high because he got write caching and advanced performance enabled on the drive in vista or write back caching enabled in intel matrix raid. Keeping it enabled is a debated topic. If you loose power you might get data corruption etc. As for your transfer being a little lower, its probably the raid controller and/or stripe size.

__________________

Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
My Heatware

Last edited by hitokiri_808; 11-30-08 at 09:34 AM.
hitokiri_808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-08, 08:51 PM   #7
chad11779
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2008

 
Thank you for this. Ive been waiting for this comparison.
chad11779 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-08, 10:55 PM   #8
dja2k
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas

 
Sorry for being a bit stupid on this matter, but your first test was RAID0 2x640 = 1280GB , so then how does the "Results from the same setup while using the matrix raid (allocated 150gb from each hdd to one 300gb partition)" work? What total space does that give you? Not familiar with using Matrix Raid.

I thought I would want some SSD drives, but for price, I rather get two of these WD6401AALS drives or maybe two WD7501AALS since the price is only like $5 more.

dja2k

__________________
CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
DVD:
LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)
dja2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 12:03 AM   #9
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
There's one interesting thing when comparing the 640GB Blue vs Black drive spec .pdf's on the WD site. The whole Blue line has a bit error rate of 1 in 10^15, the 500GB and 640GB Black are stated as 1 in 10^14 while the 750GB and 1TB Black are 1 in 10^15. Meaningful difference? I don't know, but it's strange that the Black line has different bit error rates.

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 05:02 PM   #10
hitokiri_808
Member

 
hitokiri_808's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hawaii

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2k View Post
I thought I would want some SSD drives, but for price, I rather get two of these WD6401AALS drives or maybe two WD7501AALS since the price is only like $5 more.
dja2k
I'm pretty sure those 750s are 3 platter drives, whereas the 640s are 2. Thats what makes the 640s preform better. My 2x 1TB greens are 4 platter and give me ~160MB average read and 10.4ms seek time. Thats with the first 200GB in a matrix stripe.

__________________

Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
My Heatware
hitokiri_808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 05:44 PM   #11
dja2k
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
I'm pretty sure those 750s are 3 platter drives, whereas the 640s are 2. Thats what makes the 640s preform better. My 2x 1TB greens are 4 platter and give me ~160MB average read and 10.4ms seek time. Thats with the first 200GB in a matrix stripe.
Thanks for that info. I think I am going with two WD Carviar Black 640's then. Hopefully I will see a dramatic improvement over my 90 MB\s max that I get with my current RAID0 setup.

dja2k

__________________
CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
DVD:
LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)
dja2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-08, 08:04 AM   #12
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
I have 4 of the 250 gig seagate 410AS (Single platter) drives in Matrix RAID 0. I get 468MB/s continuous, which is great for my game load times. Too bad I'm a sole XP user, otherwise four 640 gig drives would be a sweet setup. Formatted capacity would be 2.385TB, which is just over the 2TB single volume limit.

http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...5&postcount=44

Last edited by Joeteck; 12-02-08 at 08:11 AM.
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-08, 05:06 PM   #13
dja2k
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas

 
I gotta ask this, in your personal honest opinion, since I didn't upgrade my drives earlier which I have the money now - would I benefit and see dramatic improvement over my current RAID0 config by buying two of those WD Carviar Black 640's to replace my current old RAID0 config?

dja2k

__________________
CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
DVD:
LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)
dja2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-08, 06:05 PM   #14
tuskenraider
Senior Member

 
tuskenraider's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago area

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2k View Post
I gotta ask this, in your personal honest opinion, since I didn't upgrade my drives earlier which I have the money now - would I benefit and see dramatic improvement over my current RAID0 config by buying two of those WD Carviar Black 640's to replace my current old RAID0 config?

dja2k
It'll be a noticeable improvement. Throughput will double.

__________________
Thermaltake V9 BlacX ][ XFX PRO650W ][ Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ][ i7 950@4.2ghz (21x200)
Corsair A70 ][ Corsair XMS DDR3-1600 3x2GB ][ Gigabyte GTX660 Ti ][ 90GB OCZ Vertex 2
2TB Hitachi 7K3000 ][ Asus 24B1ST DVD-RW ][ Asus Zonar STX ][ Tannoy 501a
heat
tuskenraider is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-08, 05:42 AM   #15
Amtrak
Member

 
Amtrak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008

 
Anyone have non-RAID 0AAKS vs. 1AALS benches?
Amtrak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-08, 07:03 AM   #16
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Good question. Judging by the benchmarks above, I'm very sure the 2AAKS will beat the single AALS by a significant margin.

Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-08, 05:27 PM   #17
Rich'[ard]
Member

 
Rich'[ard]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melb, AUS

 
does Vista have Raid capabilities implemented into the OS? or is a RAID controller needed?

__________________
яιн.
Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
Power Corsair HX650
Case Corsair 300R
Windows w7 64bit
Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
HP Folio 13 Ultrabook
Rich'[ard] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-08, 03:27 AM   #18
hitokiri_808
Member

 
hitokiri_808's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hawaii

 
Vista does RAID 0 and 1 with dynamic disks, but you can't make a RAID 0 array your boot partition. Also you can't bench the array with hdtach or hd tune. Gotta use Sisoft Sandra file system benchmark.

__________________

Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
My Heatware
hitokiri_808 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-08, 04:15 PM   #19
Paragonics
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Hey again, came across a little info that some might find interesting if they come by:

A NewEgg review of a single ALLS drive:




Lightning in a Bottle

Pros: Quiet
Cool
Lightning Fast

This drive is FASTER than my old WD Raptor WD1500ADFD and has the benchmark numbers from HD Tune 3.10 to prove it.

Vista Ultimate x64 SP1 (fresh install with all updates and drivers)
Intel D975XBX2 w/Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
FYI: this drive will format out to 596GB of usable space under NTFS

Minimum Transfer Rate
WD6401AALS: 59.4 MB/s
WD1500ADFD: 53.8 MB/s

Maximum Transfer Rate
WD6401AALS: 118.4 MB/s
WD1500ADFD: 83.9 MB/s

Average Transfer Rate
WD6401AALS: 98.0 MB/s
WD1500ADFD: 73.3 MB/s

Burst Transfer Rate
WD6401AALS: 125.4 MB/s
WD1500ADFD: 103.4 MB/s

From the end of my BIOS POST screen until I'm at my desktop with a functioning network connection is just over 40 seconds.
EXCELLENT!

Newegg now seems to be shipping this OEM drive wrapped in bubble wrap, so thank you Newegg for listening to your customers on how OEM drives should be shipped!

Cons: None

Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a very fast hard drive and don't have the budget for a Western Digital Velociraptor or a good SSD, then this drive is your only other rational choice.
This drive is much easier to live with than my previous second generation Raptor (quieter, cooler, and 4x the space) and feels just as fast, if not slightly faster.

This drive is a steal at this price point, so why not buy two?



Reviewed by "Jimmy"
Paragonics is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-08, 02:47 PM   #20
dja2k
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas

 
Anyone know if you can have 3 of these WD6401AALS in the same system, but only use 2 in RAID0 and the 3rd for storage? Will the ICH10R let you configure this?

Also so anyone know if these WD6401AALS have a 3 or 5 year warranty?

dja2k

__________________
CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
DVD:
LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)
dja2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?