Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Can you hot swap the battery on AC with Dell Latitude C640?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-08, 07:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
orion456

 
orion456's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Can you hot swap the battery on AC with Dell Latitude C640?


Can you hot swap the battery on AC with Dell Latitude C640?

__________________
-- W3570 @ 3.8 P6TD on Swiftech H20-220
-- QX9650 P5K-E on Swiftech H20-220 water, ATI 3870, G.Skill PC 8500.



The only thing for sure, is that nothing is for sure!
orion456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-20-08, 07:30 PM   #2
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
i do it with latitude d series and e series all the time

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-08, 06:39 AM   #3
nightelph

 
nightelph's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal

 
My Dell M90 doesn't care.

__________________
Ivy Quad, Asus Z77
GTX670, Vertex4 256GB
Dell 2408WFP, Mackie MR5 Monitors
Heat
nightelph is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-08, 11:03 AM   #4
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
My CPX (older version of the C-series, similar to yours) has no problems either.

Actually, I think pretty much any laptop made in the past 15 years or so should handle it just fine.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-08, 09:52 AM Thread Starter   #5
orion456

 
orion456's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Interesting because the manual says you should turn it off to swap power, but the other modules are hot swappable.

I asked because I have a battery that when first powered up showed 55000 for maximum battery load and then I pulled it hot. It appears to be dead now with the battery light flashing yellow when I try to charge it up. Think I killed it?

__________________
-- W3570 @ 3.8 P6TD on Swiftech H20-220
-- QX9650 P5K-E on Swiftech H20-220 water, ATI 3870, G.Skill PC 8500.



The only thing for sure, is that nothing is for sure!
orion456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 11:52 PM   #6
Ethre
Member

 
Ethre's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008

 
I would find it hard to imagine that removing a load from a battery would kill it. Sounds like the battery was fishy to start with.

I think the "Turn off to swap power" is intended more as risk prevention against data loss or corruption on the laptop.

__________________
I have a fishy stick!
Ethre is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?