Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Install Vista on a separate drive while in XP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-08, 12:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
Kai_Force
Member

 
Kai_Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Install Vista on a separate drive while in XP


Is it possible to install vista on a blank drive while i am on XP? Or do i HAVE to boot with the Vista CD?

I ask this because my drive is kinda messed up and doesnt pick up the DVD when i set first boot to cd-rom. Well its not the original disk either, i made an ISO of the original then wrote it onto the DVD-RW, cant understand why it wont pick it up though

__________________
_____________________________________________
E6600@3.375Ghz 1.35V 375x9 Zalman9700
Evga 680i SLI Mobo
4G G Skill DDR2 Ram 5-5-5-15@1100Mhz 2.1V
Evga 8800GTX 768M 50c/65c
Antec 1200 Case
3 Seagate 1TB -Raid 5- Areca 1210 Raid card
2x Dell 2407WFP
ABS Tagan BZ 700 Watt
Z-5500 + Xfi XtremeGamer
Kai_Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-08, 05:06 PM   #2
AngryArtichoke
Member

 
AngryArtichoke's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oregon

 
I've never heard of doing it a non-boot way.

Try burning another one? Or maybe borrow a original copy from a friend.

__________________
THE MONSTERMAC
Case: Apple G5
CPU: Intel e6600 C2D @ 3.7Ghz ------- MOBO: EVGA 122-CK-NF63-TR 680i SLI
RAM: 2GB Micron D9 @ 1000MHz ------- Video: 8800 GTS 320 @ 575,900
PSU: FSP 600w ------- HD's: Seagate 500GB SATA, Seagate 200GB IDE
Cooling: MCP655, 3x120 Swiftech Quietpower, D-Tek Fuzion, Danger Den 680i chipset waterblock, 3x Yate Loon Silent 120mm Fans
HEAT
AngryArtichoke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-08, 11:50 PM   #3
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Why don't you just use the original disk you made the .iso from? Seems like that should help. Also, is it an upgrade or a retail version?

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?