Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

OC'ing on 939...what to read temps with?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-08, 12:41 AM Thread Starter   #1
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
OC'ing on 939...what to read temps with?


Opteron 144, De-lidded...under a XP-120 with a duct from winter air sitting in a DFI Ultra-D.

Everest reports an Idle of 24C at the moment, and "CPU Diode" of 18C. Motherboard ambient is 21C. Load temps get no higher than 38 ~ 41C pending the test.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 01:05 AM   #2
downer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PA

 
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

CoreTemp will read the on die temperature of the CPU

__________________
Heat
downer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 01:22 AM Thread Starter   #3
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Hmm, so Everest CPU Diode temp is reporting what CoreTemp reports, man that is one chilly chip

http://www.distantnexus.net/images/m...ty144temps.jpg

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 03:16 AM   #4
the_cultie
Member

 
the_cultie's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Irish living in California

 
One of the reasons I like winter, higher overclock So whats the load temps?

__________________
AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


Folding for Team32

"Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

Folding User Stats
the_cultie is online now Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 08:10 AM   #5
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
You should see higher temps right when you hit 1.5v. You will then have to start watching your mosfets.

A good temp for Optyes is keeping them below 55C. They don't like to get hot.

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-08, 12:04 PM Thread Starter   #6
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Max load temp I've seen is 38C on both sensors. Mosfets are cooled.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?