Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Overclocking an E2200 on an ECS GF7100PVT-M3

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-08, 09:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Overclocking an E2200 on an ECS GF7100PVT-M3


Sorry for the overly descriptive title. When I was searching that mobo, a lot of thread titles showed up from forums, so I thought I'd put it in the title in case someone is googling for answers. Fryes had a special on this combo of an E2200 + the ECS GF7100PVT-M3 for $80 + shipping not to long ago. NewEgg (where I got mine) had this for $120 - $20 combo bonus + free shipping. So I'm sure a ton of people have it. I bought it for a budget system, but like everything else, I started monkeying around with it. Just a note - both Fryes and NE reported the mobo as a GF7100PVT-M but most people recieved the GF7100PVT-M3.

OC'ing on the ECS mobo is a pain in the butt because it doesn't let you do things like change the fsb (except through the BSEL setting) or vcore. You can however do things like set the RAM timings/voltage, Vnb, etc.

The bios gives you the option to change the BSEL settings which negates the need to do a BSEL mod if you have this mobo:



I changed mine from 800 to 1066 and it brought me up to 2.93GHz. I could surf the web, run programs, etc but when I would run prime95, my system would crash. I figured since I could boot and use the computer it must have been some issue with the vcore. Unfortunately you can't up the voltage on that mobo without a voltmod. But that was relatively simple (special thanks to imperiousleader for the advice on the issue too who just did a voltmod on his own cpu).

First, you'll need something like a circuitwriter pen (what I used):

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=341-236

You'll also need a very small amount of electrical tape.


Step 1: Find the Voltage Identification Definition (VID) of your cpu. You can do this using coretemp ( http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/ ) which is a free download. I got confused in this step because a lot of the tutorials said "default voltage" and my cpu ran at a lower voltage than this.

Step 2: Find your cpu's data sheet on http://processorfinder.intel.com/ ... E2200: http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/316981.pdf and find the page that lists all the VID values. On the E2200 datasheet, it's page 15. My VID was 1.3125 ... after looking at the values, I decided to bump up my vcore by 0.1 since it was simplest. That would be the 1.4125 settings. If changing to 1.4 requires two changes while 1.4125 only requires 1, I suggest taking the easier route.



You'll notice values of 1 or 0 across the chart for your current VID and the voltage bump you want. To change a 0 to a 1, you put a small piece of electrical tape on the pin. To change a 1 to a 0, you connect it to a neighboring VSS pin with the circuitwriter pen (from what I underdstand, you can also use tin foil and superglue ... making sure not to get any glue on the pins themselves. I suggest the circuitwriter).

So for my purposes, all I had to do was connect the VID4 pin to a neighboring VSS pin to make it a 0.


Step 3: Find out where the pins you need to alter are located on your cpu. The datasheet will have a diagram later on. For the E2200, it's on pages 39 and 43. Keep in mind, the diagram is a mirror image, so you'll have to reverse it. You can tell this by the location of the notches and arrow on the diagram vs on your chip:



Page 43 shows that VID4 is on 4 - AK and there is a VSS pin right next to it. Using the chart on page 39, you can find where that it located (keeping in mind it is a mirror image):




Step 4: Make the changes. If you're using a circuitwriter, I suggest taping off the area around your 2 pins, then applying the ink. The ink is very watery and will spread ... that combined with how small the pins are makes taping around it necissary. If you're using foil, you would superglue between the pins and attach the foil to it's touching both pins. If you're using electrical tape to turn a 0 into a 1, just cut a small piece of tape and cover only that pin. If you get too much ink on, just wipe it clean with an alcohol pad ( > 70%).

My changes required shorting out one pin:





Step 5: Restart and make sure everything is ok in bios. I confirmed the voltage was up by 0.1 and also just monitored the temps for a while to be safe (thought at that voltage, I didn't expect any problems):



After that, my system ran stable at 2.93GHz, which is a nice boost. I was still on the crappy stock heatsink + fan, so the temps were a little high. The next time I make an order from NE, I'll probably pick up an aftermarket h/f and lower the voltage 0.03 or so to bring the temp down. But now that I have the new system in my sig, this rig is pretty much just a dust collector, so it's not a real priority.



after 11.5 hours:

Average CPU temp @ 100% load: 68 C
Average vcore @ 100% load: 1.37

Note - in addition to the stock h/f, it's winter here and I had my heater running all night as I slept (when I ran prime 95) so the room was also pretty warm.




More info:

http://sg.vr-zone.com/articles/-inte....html?doc=3904
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=586596

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-08, 11:30 PM   #2
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Would this be the same for an E6300 Steven?

SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-08, 11:38 PM Thread Starter   #3
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Yes, except you would use the E6300 datasheet for the voltmod and use 1333 for the BSEL setting since it is already at 1066

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-08, 06:16 AM   #4
imperiousleader
Member

 
imperiousleader's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamSaveMax View Post
Would this be the same for an E6300 Steven?
Only if Your motherboard supports 1333mhz fsb processors, mine does not.
imperiousleader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-08, 06:22 AM   #5
imperiousleader
Member

 
imperiousleader's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane Australia

 
Steven-1979, great stuff!!!

good to see it was a complete success, I couldn't figure out to use the circuit pen whilst having the tape on the cpu, I just drew straight on it, but whatever works eh?
imperiousleader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-08, 05:28 PM Thread Starter   #6
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Thanks man! I really appreciate the advice you gave me too. I think SamSaveMax and I have the same mobo

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 06:15 AM   #7
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Steven,
I have a 1 year old original mobo by Asus made for HP (cpu Q6600 originally installed).
That mobo's specifications support 1333FSB and seating in the closet.
From reading this post I kinda have an itch using it for the E6300..... but do not fully understand locating which pins to be shorted. A few pointer would be helpful. Thanks

E6300
Revision: B2
Default Voltage: 1.3525
http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/313278.pdf


Last edited by SamSaveMax; 12-07-08 at 06:25 AM.
SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 06:34 AM Thread Starter   #8
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Sam, can you run core temp and post what it says for VID?

http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 06:43 AM   #9
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Here it is Steven.





Last edited by SamSaveMax; 12-07-08 at 07:25 AM.
SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #10
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
cool, I forgot to ask, how much do you want to bump the voltage up?

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 03:31 PM   #11
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
I'm not an extremist. A little would be fine. Perhap .1 or .2 would be sufficient?


Last edited by SamSaveMax; 12-07-08 at 08:29 PM.
SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 07:05 PM   #12
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
the only thing you really need from the cpu for vid mod'ing is its VID, which he showed in cpuz. there is no certian settings based on model just based on VID. the voltage table intel has in the spec sheet will be the same thru out all LGA775 cpus. samething with fsb's as well, intel has one table for all fsb's. i spent the time to collect all the different pad settings per fsb, here is that table.

http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...5&postcount=17
please also read this post by ND4
http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=20

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 07:12 PM   #13
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
the best place to find the VID of your cpu is running coretemp with SPEEDSTEP and CIE off in the bios.... then you can do a proper voltage pad mod.

also if your cheap like i am, dont buy a 12dollar conductive ink pen, use a small rectangle of tin foil. put a small line of crazy glue inbetween the pads you want to connect then lay the piece of tinfoil over the pads and crazy glue... the pins in the socket will hold the tinfoil against the pads to make electrical contact..

As far as i have looked (just did a .3v undervolt on my e4300 via pad mod) it is possible to get EVERY single voltage in the vid table on a 65nm c2d ... so you got from like .8v to 1.6v to play with haha.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-08, 09:51 PM Thread Starter   #14
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamSaveMax View Post
I'm not an extremist. A little would be fine. Perhap .1 or .2 would be sufficient?
Hi, Sam. On page 17, you can see the following values for your VID and for a 0.1v bump:



To get the 0.1v bump, you have to change the VID4 to a 1 and the VID5 to a 0. To change to a 1, you need to put tape over that pin. To change a 1 to a 0, you need to connect it to a VSS pin. You can find the location of the VID4, VSS, and VID5 on page 47:





(green is tape, red is circuit pen)


For 0.2v bump, you follow same procedure:




__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-08, 12:15 AM   #15
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
I'm comparing between the charts that you made and from Intel pdf.
Starting to get the picture more clearly now.
Thanks so much Steven.

SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-08, 02:03 AM Thread Starter   #16
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
No problem. If you go through with it, let us know how it turns out!

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-08, 05:23 PM   #17
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
I wonder if a piece of aluminum foil would works?

UPDATE: I just read a thread confirmmed using kitchen aluminum foil works.


Last edited by SamSaveMax; 12-08-08 at 05:40 PM.
SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-08, 12:45 AM   #18
BossBorot

 
BossBorot's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SCU Santa Clara CA

 
Great thread I picked up this same combo (e2200 + ecs mobo) the day after black friday for $60. I didnt see the bsel options on my initial comb through the bios so I thought I was going to have to hard mod it.

However it works just fine moving from 800 to 1066 bringing it up to a nice 2.93ghz. My chip has a high vid which most likely helps it to overclock to this speed without a voltage jump even though it wouldnt reach the same max speeds on a good mobo compaired to a low vid chip.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Heatware
BossBorot is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-08, 01:08 AM   #19
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
Steven 1979 ima give you some mad props... you are the only person "noob" (recently registerd) person on here that has pretty much pad modding down pat. its not hard when you take a look at the white papers but it can easily get confuzing, espically in dealing with VID pins.


Props to Steven!

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-08, 02:46 AM Thread Starter   #20
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BossBorot View Post
Great thread I picked up this same combo (e2200 + ecs mobo) the day after black friday for $60. I didnt see the bsel options on my initial comb through the bios so I thought I was going to have to hard mod it.

However it works just fine moving from 800 to 1066 bringing it up to a nice 2.93ghz. My chip has a high vid which most likely helps it to overclock to this speed without a voltage jump even though it wouldnt reach the same max speeds on a good mobo compaired to a low vid chip.
Nice. Thats a pretty good deal. $60 for a cpu/mobo and about 1 minute in bios to get 3ghz stable!


Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
Steven 1979 ima give you some mad props... you are the only person "noob" (recently registerd) person on here that has pretty much pad modding down pat. its not hard when you take a look at the white papers but it can easily get confuzing, espically in dealing with VID pins.


Props to Steven!
thanks

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?