• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I've never used distilled water before, so im stuck.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

noobert

Disabled
I've always been using feser 1, and now, i want the cheap H2O, but i got no idea what to add. Can anyone clarify? I think one of my fill port is aluminum, and i want it to be non corrosive.

One of your fill ports? Are you running a couple loops or did you mean to say "fittings" or "barbs"? If only your fill port is aluminum then you don't need any anti corrosion additives, just don't fill the T to the top. If you think some of your fittings are aluminum they are probably just stainless steel, I've never seen aluminum fittings. Distilled water works fine as long as you don't have an aluminum radiator or water blocks mixed with copper parts.

I've seen alu fittings many times, albit any computer shop won't sell em, but they do exist and you may have em if you bought from a hardware store.

One of your fill ports? Are you running a couple loops or did you mean to say "fittings" or "barbs"? If only your fill port is aluminum then you don't need any anti corrosion additives, just don't fill the T to the top. If you think some of your fittings are aluminum they are probably just stainless steel, I've never seen aluminum fittings. Distilled water works fine as long as you don't have an aluminum radiator or water blocks mixed with copper parts.

correct!

i have the danger den fill port that is aluminum and as long as it's not filled to the top your fine as far as corrosion goes.

If you want the ultimate in non conductivity, distilled water is third best, reverse osmosis deionized water is second best, and reverse osmosis deionized water that is THEN distilled is the absolute best.