Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Question about small fft vs large in prime95

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-08, 07:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Question about small fft vs large in prime95


If I have a setting that can run small fft without errors for hours (I got up to 5 hours before turning it off) but it gets an error in about 30 minutes of large fft ... is this an indication that the problem is more likely something with the MCH settings? Or could it be the extra heat large fft is causing? I'm not sure how the tests differ, but from what I understand, large fft stresses fsb more in quads? The setting is 510 x 7.

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-08, 11:07 PM   #2
Kris
Member

 
Kris's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Eating thermal paste!@#

 
As I understand it and I may be wrong. You may be looking at ram and or NB needing some more tweaking. Blend will test more ram and NB stability than small ftt. Not knowing your current settings I don't want to give advice on what changes to make.

__________________
FX 8150 @ 4.5 @ 1.41
Corsair H100 Push-Pull
Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z 1002 bios
HD 7950 3GiG
16 GB Crucial 1866
1-750G Wd Perp-Storage
1-240 GiG Mushkin SSD-OS
Corsair TX 850
Light On Sata BD Drive
Sony Sata DVD Drive
Fractal Arc Midi
Kris is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-08, 11:11 PM   #3
boorishid
Member

 
boorishid's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008

 
I never use large ftt not sure of what value it has, try using blend if that fails run memtest if memtest passes than you most likely just need to boost your nb voltage.

__________________
CPU: Qx9650 C1 @ 4ghz daily
Mobo: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Ram: 8gb gSkill ddr2 1000 5-5-5-15
GPU: 2x ATI 4850's Crossfire
PSU: Tagan BZ 1100 Watt
HDD: 150gb Raptor, 4xWD160 raid 0
Case: Antec 900
Cooling: Swiftech Apogee Gtz, Swiftech 320 Rad w/hi speed yates, D4 Pump.
OS: Vista Ultimate x64

(_..-=HeatWare=-.._)
boorishid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-08, 01:18 AM   #4
SkiBum1207
Member

 
SkiBum1207's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008

 
as far as I know, large ffts are too big for the cache so they get sent to the ram, this could mean your NB/Ram needs some more love and work lol

__________________
Intel 3770k @ 4.5Ghz
Asus Maximus Gene Z IV
Nvidia GTX 680x2 SLI
2x 240 gb Sandisk Extreme II SSD (Raid 0)
16gb Gskill RipjawsX @ 1866 MHz
SkiBum1207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-08, 01:26 AM   #5
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
Small fft=CPU
Large fft=RAM
Blend= Ram and/or Northbridge.
try loosining your timing and see if that helps, also you should increase your ram voltage.

If blend fails increase your northbridge voltage, also make sure you actively cool and upgrade your northbridge heatsink.

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-08, 11:38 AM Thread Starter   #6
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Good info ... I've been using a 2x memory multiplier with a 400 latch ... the memory is at 1020 though. Thats less than what it's rated at (1066). Should I still increase it's volts? Everything with it is manually set to manufacturer specs:

2.1v
5-5-5-15


Is there a way to monitor NB temps?

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?