• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gaming rig CPU needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ahhhdam

Registered
Hello all, I'm building a new setup soon and I don't know what CPU I should get. This rig is going to be mostly for gaming (with the occasional PS here and there.) I posted a while back almost 2 years ago asking the same thing but I never went through and built it. Now that I have money, I'm here again asking which CPU I should get. I have my eyes right now on the Q9550 and the i7 920. I would like others' opinion on these and other CPUs that might be better suited for me.

Also it would be nice for some mobo ideas as I have no clue either. I don't know much about overclocking but I might give it a try. My budget for this build is about 2gs. I'm still learning like the rest of you, so please be kind this holiday season:santa2:

Thanks in advance.

Well for gaming you want a Fast dual core. Ive heard good things about the E8400 for OCing. I do gaming but i bought a Quad and then clocked it up, a Q6600. Im not a big spender so I bought cheap and upped the speed. Thats what overclockings about. so save yourself some money

Last edited:
Id go for a cheap dual core setup for now. Pick up some things from teh classies.

Theres a good Abit IP35 board for under $100 and a couple good dual core chips. Good budget upgrade until i7 gets it all together and comes out w/ some new chips w/ price drops. Dual core is PLENTY for the time being and if you can hold out a year, i7 will be MUCH cheaper with many more options.

if you got 2g to spend on a gaming right then no dought do it right the first time. build a i7 gaming rig....

i920
Gigabyte X58-UD5

I believe there is an e8600 on sale in the classies for a mere $200.00